Temp Moniter for Mint.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
ythe1300
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:03 am

Temp Moniter for Mint.

Postby ythe1300 » Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:53 pm

Are there any good temperature that will work with Mint? I would to monitor the temperatures of my P4 Northwood as it used to get very hot and I would like to keep an eye on them. Something like Core temp maybe?

Thanks in advance

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:25 pm

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby 900i » Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:19 pm

And this

http://conky.sourceforge.net/

And these, but the site seems to be down at the moment

http://www.gdesklets.org
Intel i7 LMDE 2. Daily driver Toshiba Chromebook

ythe1300
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:03 am

Postby ythe1300 » Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:52 am

First off thank you for replying, Secondly how do I compile them.

I know I know I am a newb :)

nick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby nick » Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:37 pm

Hi
Go to Synaptic/search/ temperature

Find "computertemp"
"Computer Temperature Monitor applet for GNOME
Computer Temperature Monitor is a little applet
for the GNOME desktop that shows the temperature
of your CPU on screen."
You can log temperatures to a file and set alarms as well.

More information: http://computertemp.berlios.de/"

If not already installed, right click
"mark for installation" install

Or if you want install Gkrellm, also in Synaptic, and all its plugins and get everything :)

Nick

ythe1300
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:03 am

Postby ythe1300 » Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:57 pm

I can't find it using Synaptic, any of them actually. :( no matter what I search for. On a more positive note I got the little gdesklets to work and may I say that it has a lot better execution than gadgets in Vista. :D

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:54 pm

gkrellm is in synaptics, at least with standard Cassandra repos + romeo repos
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

ythe1300
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:03 am

Postby ythe1300 » Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:57 pm

alright I found GKrellm in Synaptic. Funny the search didn't find it, oh well now I just have to get it to read my temp sensor .

Thank you all.
Phil


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: INeedABetterUserName, MSNbot Media and 2 guests