How change login screen resolution

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Xgamer
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:50 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

How change login screen resolution

Postby Xgamer » Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:42 am

How I can change login screen resolution , because it is 1280x1024 but I need 1024x768. Can you help me?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:47 pm

Do you use 1280x1024 at all?
If not - removing that resolution from xorg.conf does it.
If you use 1280x1024 later on you should change place with
1024x768 on the line in xorg.conf like so

Code: Select all

SubSection "Display"
      Depth      24
      Modes      "1024x768" "1280x1024" "640x480" "800x600"
   EndSubSection

The first resolutions is the default, but you can set another in "Change screen resolution" in the menu
Before you edit backup xorg.conf

Code: Select all

sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf xorg.conf.bak

Then

Code: Select all

 gksudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
and make the changes - there are several subsections, one for each color depth
There is no simpler way I'm afraid
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Xgamer
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:50 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Postby Xgamer » Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:36 am

Thank you very much. It goes very well


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSNbot Media, richyrich, WharfRat, Yahoo [Bot] and 15 guests