New to Linux and Mint...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Engine66
Level 1
Level 1

New to Linux and Mint...

Post by Engine66 »

Hello,
I have a couple of questions regarding my new path in Linux and Mint.

1. I live in the USA and am not 100% sure which edition of Mint 8 I should install, "Main" or "International"?
I read in the Mint Reviews section, something about restrictions on some software distribution in the USA and am not sure where I fall in that?

2. Since I am new to Linux, should I get a Linux book to get a foundation on the OS, so as to get the most out of Mint? If so, which one? I know I can't find a book on Mint but maybe a book on Ubuntu or something? Or, should I just install Mint and work with it and utulize these forums and more or less, do it "hands on"?

Thanks,
Engine
Last edited by Engine66 on Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Midnighter
Level 6
Level 6

Re: New to Linux and Mint...

Post by Midnighter »

Hello Engine66. I'm from Australia, and many use Main, but I chose to grab and install Universal, and add whet I needed, stripping out unwanted locale and language packs. It's not difficult to add what is required, most is asked for by the syatem when you need it. Try to pklay an mp3 or avi and it will ask to install the required codecs, asking for your password to do so. If you just want everything off the bat, and not want to fiddle much, or not worried about silly laws, just install main. But Universal would be the safer choice in USA. Cheers. :)
Helmut
Level 4
Level 4

Post by Helmut »

Hi engine66,