faster downloading?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Dražen
Level 1
Level 1

faster downloading?

Post by Dražen »

hi,does anyone know if there are any programs or something like that that makes your downloading faster?.
Maybe it's a stupid question,but i'm a newbie so... :)
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6

Re: faster downloading?

Post by grimdestripador »

Install snake oil. I'm sure it will lubricate those tubes to be running in tip top condition.

Or perhaps you can get "sudo apt-get install axel" and it will allow segmented downloading. Thus saturating your existing connection, it will utilize your connection, making the download faster, but it will not directly make your connection faster.

There is no such thing as true faster downloading, it all depends on how marketing defines fast. There are programs that you can install in windows that are designed for a direct link to DSL (no router or acesspoint). They change the lenths of the data requested such that It could be large for downloads or small for low latency. None of this works with common setups of network + router + modem. And those delays and preferred sizes are editable in linux. But don't do this as routers and switches will restructure them anyway.

Someone tell me i'm wrong and lets get some faster connections.
mathazar102
Level 1
Level 1

Post by mathazar102 »