Clipboard in Mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Cheemag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:28 pm
Location: English Region, EU

Clipboard in Mint

Post by Cheemag » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:15 pm

Next question:

The Mint (and indeed Linux) clipboard is deficient compared to the Windows one.

If I mark and copy from a document in one Mint programme, kill that programme, then the copied data is no longer available to be pasted into another application !

Klipper overcomes this problem, but has to be run from the command line, which puts it in the panel. However, it doesn't stick. How can it be made to stick or perhaps be made to run at boot?

Regards,

Cheemag.

> Linux Mint on a 16GB flash drive.
> Mint 17.3 Rosa with Cinnamon 2.8.6
> Kernel 3.19.0.32 Generic x86_64

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3961
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Clipboard in Mint

Post by proxima_centauri » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:32 pm

You could add klipper to Startup Applications in the menu.

Cheemag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:28 pm
Location: English Region, EU

Re: Clipboard in Mint (SOLVED)

Post by Cheemag » Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:50 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:You could add klipper to Startup Applications in the menu.
I wasn't aware of that facility until you mentioned it. Many thanks. It works!

Regards,

Cheemag.

> Linux Mint on a 16GB flash drive.
> Mint 17.3 Rosa with Cinnamon 2.8.6
> Kernel 3.19.0.32 Generic x86_64

User avatar
eMINT
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:06 am

Re: Clipboard in Mint

Post by eMINT » Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:09 am

it doent works to me in mint 9 Gnome... thats cause Klipper is for KDE?? another solutions for this issue?
thx

User avatar
eMINT
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:06 am

Re: Clipboard in Mint

Post by eMINT » Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:57 am

Gclipper works fine, but, is there a way to run it in background?? i mean wothout having the panel?

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”