[SOLVED] NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
SaVa
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:36 pm

[SOLVED] NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by SaVa » Tue Apr 20, 2010 10:05 pm

Hi,

I am usually a person that likes to search for answers online (as always google is our friend) but this time I am stuck...
I have just installed Mint 8 64bit (after trying Fedora, Ubuntu, Mandriva, OpenSuse and CentOS) and for all I care this is the best Distro I have encountered so far, but for some reason I cannot reach the resolution on 1280x1024 no matter what I try, Now I know that there are tons of threads about issues like this one, but please bare with me:

1. I am using a Philips LCD monitor 190C and NVIDIA 8800 GTS card.
2. Like in all the other threads suggestions I have installed the NVIDIA drivers from all the possible options - from NVIDIA site, from the Hardware manager in Mint and even from EnvyNG.
3. I was able to solve the resolution issue that surfaced after the drivers were installed (max res 800x600) by tweaking with the xorg.conf file and reseting gdm - max res resulted in 1024x768 (even though in the edited xorg.conf file I added the 1280x1024 res).
4. When that didn't work, I tried to generate a new xorg.conf automatically, which was able to find all the required devices and the NVIDIA card, but still the Monitor is unrecognizable.
5. along my searches I have encountered a manual for the "xrandr" command, and I have used it to add the 1280x1024 resolution, after verifying with the "cvt" the required parameters.
When I tried to initialize the new mode, I receive the following error: "xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed" as if my monitor cannot handle the new res.

Well at this point, after spending 2 days at choosing the Distro I liked the most, and since then doing all I can to fix the resolution issue I am writing this request for help, If there is anything else you can think of any idea will be accepted with a warm thanks.

P.S. I believe the problem is that the NVIDIA card doesn't recognize the monitor, and thus does not allow the optimized resolution to be used. I have tried the same monitor on another PC with a different graphics card and with Fedora and all resolutions were available (crossing fingers this is not a hardware problem).

Some further information:

A manual regarding the NVIDIA drivers - http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... t=xorg+gui
The url for the xrandr manual - http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-change-di ... randr.html

Following is my current xorg.conf:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
FontPath "built-ins"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "record"
Load "dri2"
Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "dbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 108.88 1280 1360 1496 1712 1024 1025 1028 1060 -HSync +Vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024_60.00"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "G80 [GeForce 8800 GTS]"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1280x1024"
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1280x1024"
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1280x1024"
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1280x1024"
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1280x1024"
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1280x1024"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Last edited by SaVa on Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by beefstu » Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:04 pm

Have you tired runing

Code: Select all

gksudo nvidia-settings
and setting it in there? I seem to remeber there's an advanced option you can use to manually insert your resolution if the one you want is not selectable.
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.

SaVa
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:36 pm

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by SaVa » Sun Apr 25, 2010 7:23 am

Hi beefstu,

Thanks for the reply.
Indeed along my tries I have tried to use the "gksu nvidia-settings" option, and enter in the advanced option the resolution I wished to used, but still since the Monitor was unrecognizable the only thing it did was to change the virtual screen size, which meant that I needed to scroll my desktop to see its sides :shock:

I tried several combinations of the advanced option and the generic display but nothing seemed to make a difference.

I am really starting to believe that this is a hardware problem, somewhere between the monitor's VGA plug and the DVI adapter for the video card something gets lost...

Thank you for your help,
SaVa.

User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by beefstu » Sun Apr 25, 2010 5:19 pm

See if you can find any errors in your xorg log.

Do this: goto /var/log put the files in "date modified" order and find the last file to be edited called "Xorg.#.log" where # is a number from 0 to 8. Open the file and do a search for "EE" and tick the box for "Match Case". If there are any lines which start with (EE) then that line(s) contains an error. Post it/them here and we'll see what we can find!
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.

lizzibet
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:50 am

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by lizzibet » Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:02 pm

post this into your xorg.conf file and save it you will have to gksu or sudo nvidia-settings in a terminal to write the changes to your hard drive.. other wise gksu or sudo nautilus and go to /etc/x11 and click on xorg.conf. here's the settings i used to fix this problem with 1280x1024 resolution:


# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildd@platinum) Fri Apr 9 17:47:53 UTC 2010


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Main Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
Load "i2c"
Load "ddc"
Load "vbe"
Load "dri"
Load "glx"
Load "synaptics"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 28.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 60.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 28.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 60.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6150SE nForce 430"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "1280x1024 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

lizzibet
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:50 am

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by lizzibet » Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:07 pm

someone really ought to pin this to the top of the page for problems with nvidia and 1280x1024 resolution

User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by beefstu » Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:16 pm

Why don't you write it up in the tutorials/how to section so others can use it if it works for the OP?
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.

lizzibet
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:50 am

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by lizzibet » Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:06 pm

Thanks for that suggestion. it is done. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

SaVa
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:36 pm

Re: NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by SaVa » Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:57 am

Hi beefstu and lizzibet,

Wow m8s, I have already started to lose hope but the xorg.conf you posted lizzibet solved the issue.
Its good you posted it in the "how to" section like beefstu suggested because it will solve for so many ppl like me this issue :D

Again I thank you both for helping me with this issue, now I can finally put my Microsoft OS to bed... (and leave it there! :mrgreen: )

Cheers,
SaVa.

lizzibet
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:50 am

Re: [SOLVED] NVIDIA and Philips monitors resolution issue

Post by lizzibet » Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:10 pm

nitey nite...

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”