super user

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
flawless
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:44 am
Location: uk, manchester
Contact:

super user

Postby flawless » Sat May 01, 2010 12:45 pm

how do i run terminal as the super user?

i know you can type sudo before the command. but i want to know how i can run as the super user so i dont have to type sudo before every command.

thanx in advance

User avatar
rich_roast
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: super user

Postby rich_roast » Sat May 01, 2010 12:54 pm

There are a variety of ways to achieve this but for all that is holy please make sure you understand the risks of running around with root permissions, even if it's only running terminal as root.

AFAIK sudo should be remembering that you've run the command recently and further sudo operations for about five minutes or some other timeout should not pester you for your password. I don't know how to increase the timeout but it might be worth investigating this as a solution.

If you, like me, open a directory as root in your file explorer program then opening a terminal using the right click menu should open the terminal as root.

There is also the command

Code: Select all

su


which substitutes root for your user, meaning that all commands you enter will be as root thereafter until you exit root's account with

Code: Select all

exit


which you ought to do before closing the terminal window, as su runs as a process (if you're running Gnome's terminal you'll get a warning if you try to close the terminal window without exiting su first to this effect).

flawless
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:44 am
Location: uk, manchester
Contact:

Re: super user

Postby flawless » Sat May 01, 2010 1:00 pm

thanx v.much i have been typing all sorts to get it to run as super user i forgot the command because i went back to using windows as i use it to make my music.

just another quick question is there any way of getting reason 4.0 to work in linux?

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: super user

Postby Aging Technogeek » Sat May 01, 2010 1:23 pm

Registered Linux User 483387

guigum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: super user

Postby guigum » Sat May 07, 2011 10:47 pm

The easiest way I found is to use this command

'sudo passwd root'

You may or may not be prompted for your current login, as usual, then you will be prompted to set a new passwd and confirm this passwd. This is the root or 'su' password. 'su' exists, they just don't give us the passwd..

(ie) sudo passwd root
Enter new UNIX password:
Retype new UNIX password:
passwd: password updated successfully

su will work with this new password, at least it did for me. Mint 9

User avatar
trollboy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:51 am

Re: super user

Postby trollboy » Sun May 08, 2011 10:50 am

The simplest way is to to run the command

Code: Select all

sudo -i
which give you a root terminal until you type the command

Code: Select all

exit
or close the terminal.
Gnome is dead. Long live XFCE

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6707
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: super user

Postby AlbertP » Sun May 08, 2011 10:58 am

Use one of these things:

Code: Select all

sudo -i
sudo su
su

They should all work, without the need to set a password: they want your own password if there's no root password set (even su does this).
I prefer su as it is shorter to type.

Edit. If you are running a distro which configures a root password during install, sudo -i and sudo su usually do not work, and you need to do su.
Last edited by AlbertP on Mon May 09, 2011 5:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
trollboy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:51 am

Re: super user

Postby trollboy » Sun May 08, 2011 11:45 am

I never even thought of trying su on its own. Sweet.
Gnome is dead. Long live XFCE

StanTheMan
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:07 pm

Re: super user

Postby StanTheMan » Sun May 08, 2011 4:24 pm

The sudo command basiclly gives you Terminal root privileges , but using only ONE password for sudo and First User.
With Debian you crreate two passwords at install , one for Root and one for User.
The above method described by guigum sets up the Root account after install to work like Debian. You will have two passwords, but you will not have to run the sudo command at every line in a long Terminal process.

User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2071
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Re: super user

Postby linuxviolin » Sun May 08, 2011 4:41 pm

rich_roast wrote:until you exit root's account with

Code: Select all

exit

Or just with the shortcut Ctrl+d :wink:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)

User avatar
trollboy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:51 am

Re: super user

Postby trollboy » Sun May 08, 2011 6:00 pm

linuxviolin wrote:
rich_roast wrote:until you exit root's account with

Code: Select all

exit

Or just with the shortcut Ctrl+d :wink:


Or Alt + F4 but to be fair that doesn't work in a tty either :)
Gnome is dead. Long live XFCE


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jim Hauser, Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests