set to auto update automatically??

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
mike555
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Florida,USA

set to auto update automatically??

Post by mike555 » Wed May 05, 2010 9:08 am

I like Mint and will be setting it up for my friends , but they tend not to update , can Mint be set to automatically update ? if so how?

Biker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:58 am
Location: Where my hat is

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by Biker » Wed May 05, 2010 9:14 am

Write a script, then set it to be run via cron.
Linux User #384279

User avatar
nono
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by nono » Wed May 05, 2010 9:20 am

I don't update. I think it is not that bad that your friends do not update.
As long as the computer keeps functioning.
Reminder: If your problem is already solved or your topic is fullfilled, kindly put [SOLVED] on your topic title.

mike555
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by mike555 » Wed May 05, 2010 9:23 am

nono wrote:I don't update. I think it is not that bad that your friends do not update.
As long as the computer keeps functioning.
I was concerned with security updates ...

Biker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:58 am
Location: Where my hat is

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by Biker » Wed May 05, 2010 9:27 am

Like Windows? Doesn't happen that often in the Linux World. And while browser updates are the only thing I can think of that would cause me to possibly upgrade on a regular basis, it's not THAT necessary if you're using common sense. Now, if the user is someone who clicks every stinking link they can get their hands on, then yes, browser upgrades should be accomplished on a regular basis.

Having said that, it is possible do unattended upgrades, although I wouldn't recommend it. Far too often an upgrade to a package that hasn't tested fully ends up breaking your installation. Best to pick and choose based on informed decisions.
Linux User #384279

User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7537
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by DrHu » Wed May 05, 2010 2:44 pm

mike555 wrote: I was concerned with security updates ...
I think the unattended upgrades is already being used by Mintupdate
http://packages.ubuntu.com/karmic/unattended-upgrades

At least it appears on the desktop panel: at the moment I am using the LXDE version of Mint 8..
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (10.35 KiB) Viewed 1855 times

mike555
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 1:54 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by mike555 » Wed May 05, 2010 3:03 pm

Perhaps auto update isn't in Mint 9-rc yet ?? because I don't see it ... the icon changes , but a person has to be smarter than a turnip (some of my customers aren't) to see it and update ... they need a setting to get security updates installed automatically .........

misswham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:12 am

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by misswham » Thu May 06, 2010 12:36 pm

Are you saying that we shouldn't update everytime one comes in?

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by vincent » Thu May 06, 2010 1:50 pm

No, but always keep in mind that an update, especially a major one like a kernel update, may break your system at any time. The same applies for Windows too though...every time a Service Pack is released for example, there are always a bunch of complaints and issues. :P

If you really want to do automatic updates though, as Biker said, just write a cron script and get it to run something like "sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade" at the interval you want.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

User avatar
distro hopper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:06 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by distro hopper » Thu May 06, 2010 2:36 pm

I always update my kernel. I've NEVER broken my system. Maybe I'm just lucky.
Distrohopper
Image

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by vincent » Fri May 07, 2010 4:42 am

I've never had kernel updates break on me either. However, as they say, your mileage may vary. ;)
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

misswham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:12 am

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by misswham » Fri May 07, 2010 10:31 am

what would the update say when it is a kernal update? Is there some special word that is used that I should look for?

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by vincent » Fri May 07, 2010 4:09 pm

Kernel updates are all labelled lvl 5 updates in mintUpdate, and are normally called something like "linux-image-..." or "linux-headers-...", something like that.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

misswham
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:12 am

Re: set to auto update automatically??

Post by misswham » Fri May 07, 2010 5:15 pm

thank you so much. i will pay attention now to that. good thing i randomly read these threads even though i dont have a problem.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”