Disk Check at startup taking - forever ...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
reactiv8
Level 1
Level 1

Disk Check at startup taking - forever ...

Post by reactiv8 »

I've been using Mint now for a couple of years since Mint 6 and am enjoying weaning myself off that other OS. Along the way I've become familiar with the periodic Disk Checks at startup, and always leave them to do their work. The older versions of Mint used to give useful status progress, but not so with Mint 9 Isadora. My main PC is an HP Pavilion AMD Dual-Core with two 1TB HDDs, dual booting M$ Windoze XP on one and Minty Freshness (32-bit) on the other. Last weekend Disk Check started running and I left it for a couple of hours, but it seemed to be hanging on 90% completion of the first disk ... Being impatient, I interrupted it and booted into Mint with no problems, forgetting about it until last night ... Disk Check started again and this time I left it all night but it didn't even seem to be progressing at all! - Both the drives are about 25% full - One NTFS, the other Ext4 - The NTFS drive is regularly defragmented and in the Ext 4 drive, I always delete old files and browsing history.

Please can my wiser peers tell me what is going on here? Am I being too impatient or is this a known bug in the new version? - I'm using the mentioned hardware to post this and the system seems to be running quite happily as per normal otherwise ...

Thanks,
Chris. :?

distrohopper
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Disk Check at startup taking - forever ...

Post by distrohopper »