How to turn off a computer connected in LAN

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
shekkieface
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:50 pm

How to turn off a computer connected in LAN

Post by shekkieface » Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:27 pm

In windows you have to goto CMD then type in Net View.
Open another CMD then type in shutdown -i

How would I do this in linux? I want to turn off my computers that are downstairs remotely from my laptop.

User avatar
kwevej
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:35 pm
Location: Delft / Prague [@ LMDE]

Re: How to turn off a computer connected in LAN

Post by kwevej » Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:38 pm

1. install ssh server on the remote computer http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=25499

*. (create a dedicated user account there)

2. login via ssh there

Code: Select all

ssh dedicated_user_name@remotehost
3. call

Code: Select all

sudo shutdown
*. not compulsory

shekkieface
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:50 pm

Re: How to turn off a computer connected in LAN

Post by shekkieface » Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:53 pm

Is there a way to do it without installing anything on the other computer? What if the other computer is windows or mac?

User avatar
kwevej
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:35 pm
Location: Delft / Prague [@ LMDE]

Re: How to turn off a computer connected in LAN

Post by kwevej » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:14 am

shekkieface wrote:Is there a way to do it without installing anything on the other computer? What if the other computer is windows or mac?
You need some interface, otherwise, you may shut down these computers perhaps just by telling somebody to do so, or shutting down electricity in your house.

if windows - remote desktop (for that, install rdesktop proggy)
if mac, that's BSD, so again SSH server.

Mybe you got ssh already installed on the Mac/Unix machine. Try connection to port 22.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”