Webcam issues

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
kh3
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:07 pm

Webcam issues

Post by kh3 »

So here's the thing (and I had this issue on Mint 8 as well), with any browser I use my Webcam shant work. Now if I use a program like Cheese, it works fine.

So what's the problem?

-Users and Groups permission to use webcam is fine
-lsusb reports that my cam is there
admin1@admin1-desktop ~ $ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 046d:c041 Logitech, Inc. G5 Laser Mouse
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 04f2:a133 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd Gateway Webcam
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Any ideas guys? Thanks in advanced.
User avatar
kh3
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:07 pm

Re: Webcam issues

Post by kh3 »

bump
Thorny
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:47 pm

Re: Webcam issues

Post by Thorny »

Kh3, sorry I haven't got a solution but you might find some useful information Ubuntu link https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Webcam
User avatar
kh3
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:07 pm

Re: Webcam issues

Post by kh3 »

Thorny wrote:Kh3, sorry I haven't got a solution but you might find some useful information Ubuntu link https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Webcam
Already gone through that. Thanks for the response however.
fishbowl42
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:06 pm

Re: Webcam issues

Post by fishbowl42 »

I assume when you say "with any browser I use my Webcam shant work" you are referring to flash applets that access the webcam. A good example is Facebook video capture. Using Facebook as an example try going here:

http://www.macromedia.com/support/docum ... ger06.html

in my example above I see facebook.com listed on the top. I highlight it and select always allow from above. Then I close that tab. and reload the video capture / recorder in my face book tab.

I hope that helps.
Last edited by fishbowl42 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
marvinudy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:24 pm

Re: Webcam issues

Post by marvinudy »

kh3,

Since the web cam works in Cheese, I have found a 'lazy'' workaround to get my web came to work with Skype.

First install 'v4l2ucp
Second launch vrl2ucp, go to 'preview', enter the sub-menu 'configure preview' and change the entry from 'mplayer' to skype.
From the same 'preview' menu, click on the 'start preview' menu and this will start skype.
Use the 'skype' options menu to enter 'video devices' and 'test' your web cam.

Works for me.

best regards,

marvinudy
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Webcam issues

Post by vincent »

If it works with Cheese, then your webcam is working. How are you trying to use your webcam via your browser? In my opinion, it's more likely to be a missing plugin, or a problem related to Flash/Java, etc.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”