Sleep but no wakeup from keyboard or mouse

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
grahamgo

Sleep but no wakeup from keyboard or mouse

Post by grahamgo »

Hi I am new to Linux Mint (3 days). So far very pleased but I have a couple of niggles.

I have installed Linux Mint dual boot with XP. XP will sleep and wakeup fine using the keyboard (hit space bar). I want the same with Linux Mint. At the moment I can hit the keyboard sleep (moon symbol) and it sleeps. But I can only get wakeup using the PC's power button, the keyboard / mouse will not wake it up. I have checked the BIOS settings and so on but as XP works I think it is something within Linux.

Stumbling around I find this info, I think I need to enable PS2K. But this is my problem, I cannot get past "permission denied" whichever way I try. Please help, it may be simple, but I am stumped......

$ cat /proc/acpi/wakeup
Device S-state Status Sysfs node
P0P1 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:01.0
P0P3 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1e.0
P0P9 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1c.0
P0P8 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1c.1
P0P7 S4 disabled
P0P6 S4 disabled
P0P5 S4 disabled
P0P4 S4 disabled
PS2K S4 disabled pnp:00:0a
UAR1 S4 disabled pnp:00:0c
USB2 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1d.1
USB3 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1d.2
USB4 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1d.3
MC97 S4 disabled
USB1 S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1d.0
EUSB S4 disabled pci:0000:00:1d.7
grahamgo

Re: Sleep but no wakeup from keyboard or mouse

Post by grahamgo »

I found that in Terminal if I do the following, I can enable PS2K and wakeup from keyboard works correctly.