No Sound in LXDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

Hi

I'm a noob, I've just installed Linux Mint LXDE V9.

I can't get any sound, and I totally don't know what to do!

Where can I find a 'control panel' with the sound settings?

What should I check? What drivers should I download etc?

I'm using an NEC Laptop, the sound 'card' is a Soundmax Integrated Digital Audio.

Thanks!
User avatar
kwevej
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:35 pm
Location: Delft / Prague [@ LMDE]

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by kwevej »

post here output of:

Code: Select all

aplay -L
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

Hi

here is the output of aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH6]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH6 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Also, in my 'system tray', just to the left of the clock in the bottom right corner of the screen, I have a speaker icon. Volume control is up high and not muted.

Hope this tells you something - I look forward to your ideas!
Thanks!
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

Or can some one suggest a version of Linux that is more likely to work with this sound hardware?
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

Anyone?

No?

Should I go back to Windows XP?
User avatar
KittyKatt
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by KittyKatt »

Does LXDE come with just ALSA installed or does it use PulseAudio as well?

I haven't used anything LXDE in quite a long time, so I'm not sure what comes standard anymore.
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

I'm really new to this so I don't know for sure, but I have been reading about some possible causes/solutions.

Some article suggested force killing pulse audio as part of their solution, but when I typed in the kill command (I can't remember what it was exactly), I got a message saying something like "No process to kill", kind of implying that it wasn't there.

Thanks for responding, if you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them.

Thanks
Pete
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5060
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by tdockery97 »

Try the command alsamixer in the terminal. It should bring up a window. Make sure nothing is muted there and that all the bars are up (you have to use the keyboard arrows).
Mint Cinnamon 20.1
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

tdockery97 wrote:Try the command alsamixer in the terminal. It should bring up a window. Make sure nothing is muted there and that all the bars are up (you have to use the keyboard arrows).

Hi

Thanks for the suggestion.
Have tried this and have set all to max.

Nothing appears muted, but still no sound.

Cheers
Pete
deleted

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by deleted »

What about the other versions of mint? I'd try booting the main (gnome version) liveCD.
-Hinto
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5060
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by tdockery97 »

TriggerHappy wrote:Nothing appears muted, but still no sound.

Cheers
Pete
So at the bottom of each vertical bar it says 00 and not MM? (Sorry, just want to make sure)
Mint Cinnamon 20.1
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

tdockery97 wrote:
TriggerHappy wrote:Nothing appears muted, but still no sound.

Cheers
Pete
So at the bottom of each vertical bar it says 00 and not MM? (Sorry, just want to make sure)
Hi
Yes, all the seemingly important ones say 00.

The following say MM:
Headphone Jack Sense
Line Jack Sense
Mic (even though it shows a high vertical bar)
Mic Boost
Phone
Aux
Stereo Mic

Thanks
Pete
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

hinto wrote:What about the other versions of mint? I'd try booting the main (gnome version) liveCD.
-Hinto

Hi

Good point.
I will try downloading and running it, as soon as I can get to a decent internet connection.

Thanks
Pete
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

Hi

Thanks to the suggestion above, I installed the Gnome version, and I have sound! Yay!

Does this tell anyone what the problem might be?

I find the gnome version to be slow and bloaty like windows - I really like the lightweight LXDE version - it was heaps faster!

If anyone can suggest how to get sound on LXDE, I would love to switch back!

Thanks!
sythe
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by sythe »

If you need a lighter edition, you could try the XFCE or Fluxbox editions.
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

sythe wrote:If you need a lighter edition, you could try the XFCE or Fluxbox editions.
Thanks, I'll give it a try...
TriggerHappy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:26 pm

Re: No Sound in LXDE

Post by TriggerHappy »

Awesome, XFCE has sound, and runs quick!

Thanks to all who offered suggestions.

Cheers
Pete
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”