Bypassing Grub

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
kcirick
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:03 pm

Bypassing Grub

Postby kcirick » Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:16 pm

Hi,

I've been using Mint for a little while now, and I have a question regarding Grub.

Linux Mint is the only OS I run on my computer and I don't plan to ever have my computer double boot. Is it possible to bypass Grub part and just boot Linux Mint right away? It would take at least a could of seconds off of my boot time.

If it can be done, how would I go about it?

Thanks!
-Rick

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby merlwiz79 » Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:18 pm

What happens when you change the timeout to 1 or 0?
Image

User avatar
Michael H
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Postby Michael H » Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:15 am

merlwiz is right - your best bet is to just drop the timeout duration to 1. (I'm not sure what happens if you set it to 0, or a decimal like .5, but it might be worth a try.)

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /boot/grub menu.lst


Then just change the number to 1, save your changes, and you should have knocked your boot time down a hair. :)

kcirick
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:03 pm

Postby kcirick » Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:10 am

Hi,

Thanks for your suggestions. Setting standby time to 1sec is a good and easy thing, but it still loads up grub... Since Mint is the only thing it runs, is it possible to NOT use grub or lilo, and just boot up linux?

Is there a way to just write on MBR partition table to boot up linux instead of starting up grub/lilo?

User avatar
D-EJ915
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Postby D-EJ915 » Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:15 am

GRUB is the actual thing which loads the operating system, you can't just get rid of it.

Do as was suggested and edit the timeout down to something like 3 seconds. Don't put it to something too short in case you need to go into single user mode.
Image


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mardangga and 18 guests