help to get my scanner working please

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
acein1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:47 am

help to get my scanner working please

Post by acein1 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:32 pm

hi,my hp deskjet 3050all in one will not scan ,it was working last time i tried,i can only assume that one of the recent updates may have something to do with it,ive got "sane",xsane, and libsane,installed ,any suggestions would be appreciated thanks

User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1715
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest Land

Re: help to get my scanner working please

Post by jungle_boy » Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:08 pm

Delete the actual scanner and install again with another name...
Del Inspiron 5480, Quad-core, Core I5 8th Gen, Geforce MX 150,
LM 19.2 Cinnamon

acein1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:47 am

Re: help to get my scanner working please

Post by acein1 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:12 am

thanks for your reply,i cant delete the scanner because "no scanner found",it is an all in one printer scanner coppier ????

User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1715
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest Land

Re: help to get my scanner working please

Post by jungle_boy » Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:29 pm

acein1 wrote:thanks for your reply,i cant delete the scanner because "no scanner found",it is an all in one printer scanner copier ????
Yes...

In your first post you said that your scanner was not working, and I thought that it was printing but not scanning...

Delete these printer and install again...
Del Inspiron 5480, Quad-core, Core I5 8th Gen, Geforce MX 150,
LM 19.2 Cinnamon

User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: help to get my scanner working please

Post by beefstu » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:19 pm

Try installing hplip

Code: Select all

apt install hplip
and using that to see if it helps. Seems strange that it used to work and doesn't now though!
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”