Major Problems (HELP ME PLEASE)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Major Problems (HELP ME PLEASE)

Post by Hawkpaw »

EDIT: I have completely reinstalled the OS, using a verified ISO file, and let the installer use the whole drive, partitioning as it sees fit. I am still having the following problems:

[*]The inability to boot up from standby/hibernate
[*]The inability to enter standby/hibernate
[*]Linux freezing(!!!)
[*]External speakers not muting when I plug in my headphones (took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to fix that, but it's annoying as hell to fix it every single time I plug my headphones in)
[*]Mouse sometimes not working on bootup, forcing another restart

I need help fixing these problems, they are very irritating, and compromise my ability to effectively work (very important, as I use my machine for my online college homework).
Last edited by Hawkpaw on Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
OldManHook
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:57 am
Location: SomeWhere In The US of A

Re: Problems

Post by OldManHook »

Hawkpaw :?
We get it :!:
Please read the forum rules-Post the same thing two times (Same thing in Open Chat) :o
You stated you could not wait to go back to Windows :lol: :lol: :lol: Why are you wasting our time :?:
Since you don't want to work on your install--Just go Away Or say sorry and ask a Question-Then you will get help :)
"Be the change you want to see in the world"
Gandhi
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

OldManHook wrote:Hawkpaw :?
We get it :!:
Please read the forum rules-Post the same thing two times (Same thing in Open Chat) :o
You stated you could not wait to go back to Windows :lol: :lol: :lol: Why are you wasting our time :?:
Since you don't want to work on your install--Just go Away Or say sorry and ask a Question-Then you will get help :)
I did say I was sorry. (In fact I have now said it twice.) I was having a bad day, so I moved this over to another forum (the proper one) in an attempt to discuss this and get answers in a more civilized manner.

Also, for reference I use an HP Pavilion dv7 laptop, factory specs.
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10022
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problems

Post by Oscar799 »

Hawkpaw,
I've locked your other other thread and posted a link to this one on it.
Hopefully that will clear up any misunderstanding.
Image
User avatar
Murdock
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:23 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Problems

Post by Murdock »

Buy a Mac.......................... :lol:
They even have a timer that'll turn off the oven if you get trashed and pass out on the toilet. :wink:
Pura Vida.
Arenal Botanical Garden
Lake Arenal, Costa Rica
User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2040
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: Problems

Post by MALsPa »

Hawkpaw wrote:[*]Long boot times
Wondering if this isn't simply fsck checking drives. Can you switch from the splash screen to the verbose output while the system's booting and see what it's saying? The down/up arrows during the boot toggle between the two views.
Hawkpaw wrote:[*]Linux freezing
That shouldn't be happening. When does it occur?
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

MALsPa wrote:
Hawkpaw wrote:[*]Long boot times
Wondering if this isn't simply fsck checking drives.

Hey! No need to curse. ;p

Can you switch from the splash screen to the verbose output while the system's booting and see what it's saying? The down/up arrows during the boot toggle between the two views.

I'll give that a try next time I'm booting up.
Hawkpaw wrote:[*]Linux freezing
That shouldn't be happening. When does it occur?

It's hard to tell. It honestly seems to be at random. The only programs I'm running or Firefox (admittedly with a few too many tabs open) and Trillian.
Responses in bold.
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Problems

Post by rivenathos »

Was there ever an lspci posted in regards to the hardware?

Code: Select all

lspci -nn
If there is a fsck at every boot, that is not a good thing, obviously.

How was Mint installed?
How are your partitions set up?
Is there enough /swap to accommodate suspend/hibernate?
Do you happen to have an Intel video chipset? The lspci output will show what you have.

It is very hard to give advice without enough information being shared. Saying you have an HP Pavilion dv7 laptop is simply not enough info to go on. ;-)
Current hardware: a Dell OptiPlex 3010 desktop, a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop, and a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop.
Current OS: LMDE 3
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

rivenathos wrote:Was there ever an lspci posted in regards to the hardware?

Code: Select all

lspci -nn
If there is a fsck at every boot, that is not a good thing, obviously.

How was Mint installed?
How are your partitions set up?
Is there enough /swap to accommodate suspend/hibernate?
Do you happen to have an Intel video chipset? The lspci output will show what you have.

It is very hard to give advice without enough information being shared. Saying you have an HP Pavilion dv7 laptop is simply not enough info to go on. ;-)
*smiles and nods* Uh-huh. .....You totally lost me. (For reference, I'm terrible at this stuff. I saw a book on C++ at my college bookstore and thought, "No way! I won't be happy with anything less than a B++.")

"If there is a fsck at every boot, that is not a good thing, obviously."

Obviously. I don't want my computer cursing at me every time it boots up!

Mint was installed via a DVD that I burned an ISO to using my HP desktop's default ISO-burning software.

I'm not sure how my partitions are set up. Is there any way I can find out, and if necessary, change the /swap partition?

Also, here's the lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor DMI [8086:d132] (rev 11)
00:03.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Core Processor PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:d138] (rev 11)
00:08.0 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation Core Processor System Management Registers [8086:d155] (rev 11)
00:08.1 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Semaphore and Scratchpad Registers [8086:d156] (rev 11)
00:08.2 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation Core Processor System Control and Status Registers [8086:d157] (rev 11)
00:08.3 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Miscellaneous Registers [8086:d158] (rev 11)
00:10.0 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link [8086:d150] (rev 11)
00:10.1 System peripheral [0880]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Routing and Protocol Registers [8086:d151] (rev 11)
00:1a.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller [8086:3b3c] (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio [8086:3b56] (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:3b42] (rev 05)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:3b44] (rev 05)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 4 [8086:3b48] (rev 05)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 [8086:3b4a] (rev 05)
00:1c.7 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 8 [8086:3b50] (rev 05)
00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller [8086:3b34] (rev 05)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev a5)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller [8086:3b03] (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 6 port SATA AHCI Controller [8086:3b2f] (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller [8086:3b30] (rev 05)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller [1180]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem [8086:3b32] (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 230M] [10de:0a28] (rev a2)
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: nVidia Corporation High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0be2] (rev a1)
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 5100 AGN [Shiloh] Network Connection [8086:4237]
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 03)
05:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: JMicron Technology Corp. IEEE 1394 Host Controller [197b:2380]
05:00.1 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. SD/MMC Host Controller [197b:2382]
05:00.2 SD Host controller [0805]: JMicron Technology Corp. Standard SD Host Controller [197b:2381]
05:00.3 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. MS Host Controller [197b:2383]
05:00.4 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. xD Host Controller [197b:2384]
3f:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-Core Registers [8086:2c52] (rev 04)
3f:00.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder [8086:2c81] (rev 04)
3f:02.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 [8086:2c90] (rev 04)
3f:02.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Physical 0 [8086:2c91] (rev 04)
3f:03.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller [8086:2c98] (rev 04)
3f:03.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Target Address Decoder [8086:2c99] (rev 04)
3f:03.4 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Test Registers [8086:2c9c] (rev 04)
3f:04.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Control Registers [8086:2ca0] (rev 04)
3f:04.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Address Registers [8086:2ca1] (rev 04)
3f:04.2 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Rank Registers [8086:2ca2] (rev 04)
3f:04.3 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Thermal Control Registers [8086:2ca3] (rev 04)
3f:05.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Control Registers [8086:2ca8] (rev 04)
3f:05.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Address Registers [8086:2ca9] (rev 04)
3f:05.2 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Rank Registers [8086:2caa] (rev 04)
3f:05.3 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Thermal Control Registers [8086:2cab] (rev 04)
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Problems

Post by rivenathos »

Ha, ha, ha... "fsck" means file system check. Mine only runs every 25 or 30 boots. No, the machine is not cursing at you. :wink:
Worth a read:
http://www.jaguarpc.com/blog/general/fs ... h-cursing/

When you downloaded and burned the Mint ISO, it is quite possible you had either a bad download or a bad burn - possibly both. With a download, always check the MD5. If you use a torrent, you rarely get a bad download. I always use a torrent. When you burn a disc, always use the slowest possible speed. If you burned it at maximum, you probably have errors. For the record, I think this may be where the majority of your problems arise. This could also be why you get a fsck every time you boot.

If you allowed Mint to choose how to partition, that should be OK. You should have a big enough /swap and a decent /. Many of us partition manually.

I am going to say that your lspci is the biggest I have ever seen. :D I mean, wow! You have a lot under the hood. I was mainly focusing on what video you have:

Code: Select all

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 230M] [10de:0a28] (rev a2)
This is handy to know in case of video issues.

At this point, I think the download and burn method you used may be worth some extreme focus.
Current hardware: a Dell OptiPlex 3010 desktop, a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop, and a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop.
Current OS: LMDE 3
conslie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:03 am

Re: Problems

Post by conslie »

Just to add to the previous post. To check the MD5Sum: when right-clicking the .iso within a running Linux Mint just select that entry from the list of options. Compare that to that to the value listed at the download link. If it doesn't match it wont work well or even at all. Try again. Find the link to the correct MD5 for the version you installed at: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1581

If that is OK, try burning at the slowest speed to minimize the chance of errors during that step.
User avatar
piquat
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:56 am

Re: Problems

Post by piquat »

Hawkpaw wrote:I'm not sure how my partitions are set up. Is there any way I can find out, and if necessary, change the /swap partition?
If you open a terminal and type:

Code: Select all

sudo fdisk -l
and enter your password when prompted, fdisk will spit out your partitioning scheme.

I'd solve your freezing problems before worrying about a swap partition that may be too small to allow you to hibernate properly.
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

Sorry I don't have time to reply properly, but here's my fdisk.



james@James-Mobile-HQ ~ $ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000d1468

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 171 1366016 82 Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 171 60802 487017473 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 171 657 3905536 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 657 60802 483110912 83 Linux
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

Oooookay. Something weird just happened. My computer wouldn't shut down properly, and when I switched it to data output mode, I saw this:

http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/1807/p1070683u.jpg

Unfortunately, for some reason my computer isn't reading the picture properly, so it's a bit ... garbled, but most of it is still legible.
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

UPDATE: I'm now getting this error that just will not go away, so I have to hide it under my other windows.

"Error activating XKB configuration.
It can happen under various circumstances:
• a bug in libxklavier library
• a bug in X server (xkbcomp, xmodmap utilities)
• X server with incompatible libxkbfile implementation

X server version data:
The X.Org Foundation
10900000

If you report this situation as a bug, please include:
• The result of xprop -root | grep XKB
• The result of gconftool-2 -R /desktop/gnome/peripherals/keyboard/kbd"
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Problems

Post by rivenathos »

That image sure is like nothing I have ever seen before. Are you using the ReiserFS?
Current hardware: a Dell OptiPlex 3010 desktop, a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop, and a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop.
Current OS: LMDE 3
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

rivenathos wrote:That image sure is like nothing I have ever seen before. Are you using the ReiserFS?
I believe so. That's how the guide I read told me to partition it.
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Problems

Post by rivenathos »

I have never used ReiserFS. I know I have gotten excellent service with ext3 and ext4.

You just mentioned you installed your system with a guide of some kind. Do you have a link to that guide? I am only asking since you are having all sorts of problems that very few of us have ever experienced. Perhaps something was unusual in the guide you have followed. There are plenty of helpful suggestions for Mint which have worked great. I am just trying to track down why you are having these particular issues.
Current hardware: a Dell OptiPlex 3010 desktop, a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop, and a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop.
Current OS: LMDE 3
Hawkpaw
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: Problems

Post by Hawkpaw »

Unfortunately i do not.

Honestly, I'm just going to try reinstalling Linux. I don't suppose you have a link to another guide that I could use? The one I used was a bit old.
User avatar
monkeyboy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Problems

Post by monkeyboy »

How did you install the reiserfs on a default Mint install and why did chose it as a file system? H
If you don't like it, make something better
If you can't make something better, adapt
If you can't do either ball your panties up and cry.

Complaining is like masticating most anyone can do it.
However doing it in public is really hardcore.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”