Programs not showing up in Panel solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Matteran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:48 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Programs not showing up in Panel solved

Postby Matteran » Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:55 pm

Hi, I just installed Celena. I had been running Cassandra since it came out, so I'm pretty familier with mint.

However I'm still a n00b with some things. Anyway, after doing a clean install of celena I noticed that programs that I tell to have a panel icon (deluge, exile, etc.) the icon doesn't show up. Even for mintupdate or any of that. Only the icons that I manually add show up (workspace switcher, clock, and network status)

thanks.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:32 am

Can't really think of anything but....
You could accidentally have made the panel autohide and created a new one in its place.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
civint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:56 am
Location: A long time ago, yet somehow in the future...

Postby civint » Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:16 pm

you may have not put the system tray onto your bars...dunno, really.
Image

User avatar
Matteran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:48 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Postby Matteran » Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:15 pm

ahh, okay, it's the "Notification Area" for the panel... thanks, you pointed me in the right direction.

dishbert99
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:15 pm

Postby dishbert99 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:20 pm

Hey Husse, I googled mint autohide and this tread is the closest I can come to figuring out How-To-Autohide the panel when I'm watching TV with Mythtv.

I've found some pointers on how to do it in Gnome with other distros, but they don't seem to apply to Mint. I'm using Daryna 4.0 Beta 21.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:12 am

Welocme to Mint dishbert99
??
Right click the panel > Properties > Tick autohide
Now you'll only see a small stripe instead of the panel
This is in general - I don't know how MythTV affects it.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

dishbert99
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:15 pm

Postby dishbert99 » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:08 pm

Well that was easy! Thanks for the prompt reply Husse.

Mint is great, although I'm sure I'm not the first to misspeak and combine it with Linux only to find "Lint" coming out of my mouth.

But the tiny white line left over will eventually be a burn-in problem on my plasma TV unless I can get rid of it entirely. Is that possible?

dishbert


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], InkKnife and 4 guests