sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
frantz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:27 am

sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

Post by frantz »

hi there... here is the prob

i just put the ppa:

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:shutter/ppa
but when i run sudo apt-get update, it will be like this:

Image


same thing happens to me when i add the repository from the webupd8 team for the y-ppa-manager and also the gnome-global menu, the same error produced... anyone have any ideas for this? thanks

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

Post by proxima_centauri »

Go edit the repository information in Software Sources, in all of your PPA's, change every 'katya' to 'maverick'.

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

Post by AdamS »

Might try

Use launchpad get keys app.

But if there never was a natty package built.

best to remove to remove the paa and download the package to resolve dependencies manually.

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get launchpad-getkeys

Code: Select all

sudo launchpad-getkeys 
Lot of times you might have to do a little code rewriting to get the package to use a newer resource if there wasn't a natty package made.
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3950
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

Post by proxima_centauri »

If that works, I'll be sure to remember it for the future. Thanks for the tip.

frantz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:27 am

Re: sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

Post by frantz »

thanks for the tip.

ive go to the Synaptic package manager and select the repo added by me then i've changed the dist name to natty. seems work and i'm glad with it. :D

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: sudo apt-get update produce error after adding repo

Post by AdamS »

sorry forgot about the ppa

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:nilarimogard/webupd8
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install launchpad-getkeys
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”