Page 1 of 1

Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:49 am
by hinks
Hi,

I've set wrong keyboard layout at install time, some letters are swapped so .. I wanted to fix this.

I've added correct layout and removed the initial one. New layout only works for current session, after power cycle the old layout is active again, and new layout can be selected. I've clicked 'Apply System-Wide' but the effect is always the same..

Re: Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:01 pm
by holadebeto
Anybody else going bonkers over losing default values for keyboard layout?

If you have a secret or a way to eliminate the USA (no, I really like the country), please put it out here. I need to use a Spanish keyboard (es)

I've tried dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
I've tried setxkbmap es
I've tried the Keyboard Preferences
I've tried system config desktop/gnome/peripherals/keyboard/layout to es

When I go to type something, when I least expect it, WHAM!, I type a / and & comes up. :)

If this is something that's coming down the road on upgrades/updates, then forgive me.

Thank you

Re: Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:48 pm
by Nevermore
I also have this problem. It turns back to usa everytime I reboot, if the screensaver comes on, and if it simply finds it pleasing to do so...

Re: Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:03 pm
by rich_roast
Is there still a file at this location?

Code: Select all

~/.linuxmint/skl
If so you need to edit that. If not it's been a while since I used Linux Mint.

Re: Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:16 pm
by Kendall
~/.linuxmint/skl has only ever been present on the LXDE and Fluxbox editions. If you're using either of these then this is definitely the correct place to set the keyboard layout.

Re: Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:22 pm
by Tony.B
Menu > Applications > Preferences > Keyboard worked ok for me in LM9, but perhaps this has changed for later versions.

I hope this helps

Re: Keyboard layout not remembered

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:05 pm
by holadebeto
Wouldn't ya know it? I just "fixed" the problem, made sure it was working correctly and then went to post it here and see the posts from you folks giving us another thing to try. Rats!

Anyway, what I did was installed gdm, (which uninstalls gdm3) went to log in properties, set auto login, and everything works fine - the keyboard has maintained my default espaƱol. Since it works so well, I'm going to live with this unless someone tells me it was a stupid thing to do. :)