LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
smiley_lauf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:30 pm

LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by smiley_lauf »

I can't seem to adjust screen brightness in AC or on battery.
(1) Fn togggle with arrow up/down does not work at all
(2) This fixhttp://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p= ... stcount=12 also does nothing
(3) Using the nvidia settings "color correction" [as suggested here http://www.pramonotunggul.com/how-to-ad ... rightness/ ] and using the brightness slide bar seems to work, but this has to be setup each time i switch from AC to battery--it is not automatic
(4) Power Manager also refuses to budge
(5) Ubuntu Tweak Power Manager also does nothing

I have searched and tried implementing most of the solutions, but I still find myself struggling to get the brightness honor power management and Fn key (user induced change).

Please can anyone with the right mind help me.

Regards,
SL
Ubuntu User #21505; Linux User #408849

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by AdamS »

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/default/grub 
Change the line GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="" into

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi=Linux" 
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT and add "acpi_osi=Linux"

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet acpi_osi=Linux"
Last run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub2
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

smiley_lauf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:30 pm

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by smiley_lauf »

It worked like a charm. Many thanks.

Problem [solved].

So, how is someone new to LM supposed to figure this out? is it a bug? Will it be included in future updates? Is it a nvidia specific issue?

Just curious.
SL
Ubuntu User #21505; Linux User #408849

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by AdamS »

Not a bug

Next time just ASK before you stress it lol.

What ya did was told grub that LINUX will control the acpi and not bios.

Windows uses bios to acpi code to allow them to talk to each other via 3rd party, this is only possible if they release the code to be included into the kernel.


Just a little powered by the worlds largest monopoly bs my friend.

Thous that know, know not to buy into the BS and bypass it lol.

Your now in the know.

Wont be the last time you will need to bypass some bs. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

smiley_lauf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:30 pm

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by smiley_lauf »

The reason I asked was previous editions of LM worked fine; I did not have to instruct kernel to use Linux OS to control the brightness; this has changed since then? or did I miss something in the interim.

But your point is well made. That is why I use Gnu Linux, I like the way it makes me be "in charge" rather than been told that "this is only way to do it."
Ubuntu User #21505; Linux User #408849

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by AdamS »

In this case, some support for your acpi was removed from the kernel or os.

It happens, support for some hardware does get removed to keep sizes in respected amounts.

LTS tend to keep support for hardware longer.

There is just no way to include support for YEARS of hardware in each release.

We end up with a windows 7 bloated all to hell lol

LTS builds have always ended up being much larger once all updates are installed.

at the same time LTS lacks support for state of the art systems and or features.

Thus, why we have new builds.
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

joha
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:22 am

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by joha »

Hi guys,

I had the same problem, not being able to change the brightness. I did what you described, which brought me a little further, but still not to my full desire ;p

I am now able to adjust the brightness, but it wont change until I restart my laptop. What I mean ist, that it doesnt change right away, but once I fully restart my laptop. Thats not really what Id like to do every time. Do you have any idea?

Thanks in advance,
joha

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6714
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by AlbertP »

What laptop (manufacturer & type) do you have?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by AdamS »

joha wrote:Hi guys,

I had the same problem, not being able to change the brightness. I did what you described, which brought me a little further, but still not to my full desire ;p

I am now able to adjust the brightness, but it wont change until I restart my laptop. What I mean ist, that it doesnt change right away, but once I fully restart my laptop. Thats not really what Id like to do every time. Do you have any idea?

Thanks in advance,
joha

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor splash
try that one.
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

joha
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:22 am

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by joha »

I got an ACER TravelMate 8473TG - the Nvidia Optimus is deactivated in the BIOS.

The vendor - try did not work. With the vendor -thing I couldnt even adjust anything nomore, meaning that the Brightness-Notification didnt even show up :(

User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by AdamS »

Didn't think it would work, but it was the last one I had on record lol.

Sorry man, I will dig some. Let ya know what I find.
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.

joha
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:22 am

Re: LM11 x64 nvidia gforce 330m: adjust screen brightness

Post by joha »

Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”