How do I switch keyboard languages in 10 Lxde?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
tomi87
Level 1
Level 1

How do I switch keyboard languages in 10 Lxde?

Post by tomi87 »

Hello. I'm completely new to Linux, sorry if there's anything wrong with the question. I did try to search but failed to find a solution.
After an attempt with Xubuntu 10.10 which didn't detect my HDD, I managed to install Linux Mint 10 LXDE on my laptop (Acer TravelMate5310, Celeron M 1,6, 1GB RAM), everything works fine, but I don't seem to manage to switch between keyboard languages the way you would do it with Alt+Shift in Windows (or in any other way in fact). I really need to be able to switch quickly when I'm doing translations, and this is the only problem that is preventig me from moving from Vista to Mint with everything I use the computer for, but I'm sure there is a solution.

I've made the 'Keyboard Layout Switcher' show in the panel. First it showed Latin when I selected US from the menu, after a new boot it shows US, but won't let me switch to anything else, even though I installed the languages I need (only the spellchecking and writing aids part, not the translations. Could this be the problem? But as far as I can tell, input methods are installed by default).

As a worst case scenario I could even imagine switching layouts from the menu every time, but I can't even find Hungarian there, despite having installed the language. (I need to use standard US English (qwerty), Italian, Hungarian and Romanian keyboards).

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.
Gee7
Level 1
Level 1

Re: How do I switch keyboard languages in 10 Lxde?