Daryna - NTFS

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
iblis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:04 am

Daryna - NTFS

Postby iblis » Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:08 am

Hi, i'm using Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna LiveCD.
How can i access/mount my NTFS/FAT32 partition since mintdisk is not included in Daryna ?

Thx

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna - NTFS

Postby Husse » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:05 am

It's built in by default - you don't have to do anything - more than see to it that your disks are in fstab and they should be if they were connected during install
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

iblis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:04 am

Re: Daryna - NTFS

Postby iblis » Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:21 am

where is the fstab? i cant find it in /etc/fstab

sorry, i'm really new to linux

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna - NTFS

Postby Husse » Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:04 am

Well, you found fstab
There should be a line like this for each NTFS partition
/dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
Of course you have to adjust to whatever your disks are called
When you do this it's the equivalent of working with disk management in Win XP but there it's a graphical environment with tons of limitations - ever tried to reuse a drive letter?
And of course editing fstab needs sudo
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
Make a copy first - simplest way is to just open fstab and copy all into a file that can be on you desktop.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bertradio, Tomgin5 and 17 guests