How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
EricRG
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:23 am

How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

Postby EricRG » Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:34 am

Hello,

I use Celena. It's very easy to use nvidia and beryl (thanks) so it works fine.

But, I can't (or don't know) how to have the "cube effect" !!!

On Ubuntu, I could have multiple desktops (on one monitor) and I don't know how to add some to Celena...
Maybe that's the reason why the "cube" doesn't work.

(Ok, I know you've to use ctrl+alt to move the windows but when I try to drag one outside the screen I don't see the cube).

(sorry for my english, i'm french ;-) )

Oh, I was about to forget : Happy chrismas to everybody ;-D

Ralphnaderchop
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:55 am

Re: How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

Postby Ralphnaderchop » Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:01 am

Hey, I know this one! Go to preferences>appearance>visual effects and select extra. Now that should enable you to use the cube. To use the cube hold control+alt and hold the left click down on the mouse and move the mouse. Now how to I erase the writing I draw on my screen with out logging my user out?

EricRG
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:23 am

Re: How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

Postby EricRG » Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:35 am

Hello (again)

well , thanks but it's too late !!!

I mean.. I didn't do anything special but now I have a wonderful (!) black screen so I have a new question :
how do you stop the 3D effect within a console (the root console !) from a user ?

grrr !!!

i had to make a new user with the root to be able to use my computer again !!!

User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

Postby newW2 » Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:04 am

Please give more information on this issue. You can run "dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg" to reconfigure, but let's hear more on the specifics.

EricRG
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:23 am

Re: How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

Postby EricRG » Wed Dec 26, 2007 2:10 pm

I use Celena.
I clicked on "Desktop Effects" and Celena installed the drivers for my nvidia card.
I started again and it worked fine (I saw it with trying some screensavers like infotunnel).
i used again "desktop effect" to have Beryl. it worked fine (i could see the new funny windows' moves)

and later on, when I restarted my linux : i had only a black screen with nothing on it !

yelp!

EricRG
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:23 am

Re: How to use beryl ? (yes, it's a newbie questions !!!) :-)

Postby EricRG » Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:50 am

hello,

I just try my old username today and now it works (I don't try to understand !!!)


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests