[SOLVED] Network Browsing with Mint 9 LXDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
MSeries
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Network Browsing with Mint 9 LXDE

Post by MSeries » Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:27 pm

Newbie Mint user here so please be gentle. I have just bought a used Dell Latitude C510 on which the previous owner had installed Mint 9 xfce to demonstrate that the machine works. Now I am not a total newbie to Linux, I already have a Ubuntu 11 laptop with Gnome and an Ubuntu 10 server. I use OpenSUSE at work and in the past have use Redhat . Now in my network I have a machine, the Ubuntu server which has some Samba shares set up which may be accessed by Windows machine as well as my Ubuntu laptop, so I am sure my shares are set up correctly. With Ubuntu/Gnome I see 'Network' listed in the Places list and I can drill down to see the shares. How do I do this with Mint xfce ? I realise that the response it probably going to be RTFM and while my Google Fu is usually quite good I really don't know what to search for ? Is Gigolo meant to show networked computers ? Does my Mint box need to be on the same 'workgroup' to use a Windows term ? How do I set this ?

A link to a document telling me how to do this will be great, thanks.

Another issue that I think I *might* come across is with my PCMCIA wireless adaptor. I don't think any Linux drivers will be available for it, it's a BT Voyager 1065, will the NDIS Wrappers work for this, ? I have never used the NDIS Wrappers, what do the wrap ? The Windows 2000/XP drivers ?

thanks

EDIT: changed LMDE to xfce - sorry for the confusion