dual boot w/win7

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
bodhi926
Level 1
Level 1

dual boot w/win7

Post by bodhi926 »

were learning mint at school, but i wanted to run it at home also, i created a 10gb partition burnt my download to my disk but everytime i try to boot from the dvd and install it boots windows, i am a newbie to unix but not windows but this one has me stumped, help please!
i am also considering running it via vm/oracle on an ext usb drive, would that be easier?

istrandi
Level 4
Level 4

Re: dual boot w/win7

Post by istrandi »

When you say "it boots windows" does that mean it shows grub first (menu screen with a choice to choose OS's) or does it boot straight into windows?

Also, have you considered letting mint do the partitioning itself (just run the default install without partitioning it first yourself)? It might be easier for you...
When your problem is solved, add to the title of your first post [Solved].
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I use: linux mint 11 main, mac osx 10.6, windows 7, ubuntu server

Scientia Vires Est.

bodhi926
Level 1
Level 1

Post by bodhi926 »

no grub screen, i have tried both ubuntu and mint on both a laptop and desktop, the closest i have come is booting with an ext dvd drive and it says no os found (and that was mint). at first that is what i was going to do was let mint do the partition but thought because it couldnt find any empty drive space...
also i have even tried both 32 and 64 bit ver (all my systems are 64 bit and running win 7 (3 dsktops and a laptop)