Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:52 pm
by Danko8321
I want to setup a System-Wide Proxy, but i really have no idea regarding how to do it: so here is the question How? What recomendations do you have? Any Proxy servers you would like to suggest? Perhaps some considerations about the subject? I thank your help in advance. I really know nothing about Proxy, and the main reason I want to set one up, is to bypass some restrictions, and to have a little more privacy.

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:05 pm
by istrandi
I don't have access to my mint box right now. However, what works in ubuntu should work in mint (assuming you are using the main version). So... you could try:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/15719/wh ... y-settings

and see if this does what you want.


What restrictions do you want to bypass? If its stuff like content based upon country restrictions, then just google around for proxy's in the relevant countries.

Also, if you are after privacy/anonimity, and its just for basic web browsing i.e. in firefox, then you could consider TOR (https://www.torproject.org/). Note: If watching videos etc. you cannot use their bundled broswer.

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:16 pm
by remoulder
Danko8321 wrote:setup a System-Wide Proxy
Menu > Preferences | Network Proxy | Apply System Wide

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:59 pm
by Danko8321
remoulder wrote:
Danko8321 wrote:setup a System-Wide Proxy
Menu > Preferences | Network Proxy | Apply System Wide
Yes, I already Knew that; in fact, thats how I got the idea, but, as I said, I'm a TOTAL Newbie, so i would like something a little more explicit, and, if possible, the basic structure of a proxy address (IF there is one), what should and shouldn't I do when I want to configure my own (I tried to do it but failed, so I was looking for something a little more "Idiotproof" than the things I found through google); Maybe I used a wrong Proxy Address, I don't know, but you might, so that is the nature of my request.

PD: I'm using the main version of Linux Mint 11; that means, Gnome desktop, and very alike to Ubuntu, but I still Can't make it work :cry: :cry: :cry:

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:16 pm
by istrandi
Ok... for a list of free proxy's try here:

http://spys.ru/en/

not that I actually trust this but hey.

I grabbed one of theirs at random and put it in. Screenshot attached.

This should work.

I'm posting this through the proxy, and then I'm reverting.

Have fun with the proxy.

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 4:01 pm
by Danko8321
istrandi wrote:Ok... for a list of free proxy's try here:

http://spys.ru/en/

not that I actually trust this but hey.

I grabbed one of theirs at random and put it in. Screenshot attached.

This should work.

I'm posting this through the proxy, and then I'm reverting.

Have fun with the proxy.
Thanks, it seems to be the solution, but, as I told before, I'm a total Linux-newbie, so I have absolutely no idea of what to put in the "port" tab; it would help me to be more specific in the answer and please tell me how to configure the proxy to work with both Google Chrome an Mozilla Firefox, as well as the package manager. I did as you told me but i couldn't make Chrome nor Mozzila recognize it, and I'm running out of ideas regardig which boxes to change; PD: i tried to use the same settings you used, but it didn't work either.

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:30 pm
by istrandi
Ok, using the settings I used, it should AUTOMATICALLY work with firefox. Haven't tried with chrome/chromium.

Did you remember to hit apply system wide?

BTW port = the port that the proxy specified. If in doubt try port 80 (default http).

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:44 pm
by Danko8321
istrandi wrote:Ok, using the settings I used, it should AUTOMATICALLY work with firefox. Haven't tried with chrome/chromium.

Did you remember to hit apply system wide?

BTW port = the port that the proxy specified. If in doubt try port 80 (default http).

Ok,I tried it, but I don"t know where does it say the port number (may it be the 4 number after the colon?), I've been trying with both Chrome and Firefox, but i can't get it right no matter what; I've also tried to connect using the default port (port 80), but it doesn't work either. Any other Ideas?

PD: thank you for your help, I see this is a very friendly community, and it's very pleasant to know I can count with your help (not like provider client service, where all they make sure is that it isn't their fault and then they hung up on you)

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:33 pm
by istrandi
Ok, I'll give you step by step instructions as to what I did to make this work.

1. Close firefox.

2. Open Network Proxy Preferences.

3. Select Manual Proxy Configuration

4. Check the box "use the same proxy for all protocols"

5. Enter the url of the proxy and the port i.e. url: 81.200.10.38 and port: 3128

6. a. Click apply system wide
b. Enter your password in each of the popups

7. Click close on network preferences

8. Open firefox.

9. Select, Edit, Prefernces, Advanced, Network, Connection Settings.

10. Select Use system proxy settings

Try that. If this still doesn't work, I'll walk you through configuring just firefox/chrome

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:06 am
by Danko8321
istrandi wrote:Ok, I'll give you step by step instructions as to what I did to make this work.

1. Close firefox.

2. Open Network Proxy Preferences.

3. Select Manual Proxy Configuration

4. Check the box "use the same proxy for all protocols"

5. Enter the url of the proxy and the port i.e. url: 81.200.10.38 and port: 3128

6. a. Click apply system wide
b. Enter your password in each of the popups

7. Click close on network preferences

8. Open firefox.

9. Select, Edit, Prefernces, Advanced, Network, Connection Settings.

10. Select Use system proxy settings

Try that. If this still doesn't work, I'll walk you through configuring just firefox/chrome
Thanks Man, I finally did it; it was really simple in the end, even though I was close to giving up; I don' know how to thank you properly for your help and your patience (I'm trying to sort out that "Linux-Newbie" situation, but I'm starting to think it might take some more time than that initially thought); I have just a little doubt: the port for the proxy is the one after the colon(:)? because I tried with it but it didn't work (the instructions you gave me worked perfectly though); I don't wan't to bother you again with the same question, so I need to learn how to recognize the port that the proxy is telling me to use. Again, thank you all, since you were very diligent and also very helpful

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:19 am
by istrandi
yep, the number after the colon is the port. Have fun!

BTW, mark the post as solved

Re: Setting up a System-Wide proxy

Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:29 am
by Danko8321
istrandi wrote:yep, the number after the colon is the port. Have fun!

BTW, mark the post as solved

Thanks, now I was able to configure a proxy of my own, and know where the port directions are on the proxy address; Marked as solved