adding icons to the desktop

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
hotshot247
Level 1
Level 1

adding icons to the desktop

Post by hotshot247 »

i'm not new to linux, i've been using ubuntu for about 3-4 years now since ubuntu 8.04 but i'm new to linux mint 12 and what i was wanting to know is how do i add icons to the desktop? linux mint 12 is a little different than what i'm used to but i love it and don't want to change and this problem is so simple yet i don't know how to do it. lol can somebody help me? thanks!

gimcrack
Level 1
Level 1

Re: adding icons to the desktop

Post by gimcrack »

Drag and Drop. Open Menu - hold left mouse button over the app that you want to appear on your Desktop. Drag to the Desktop.

hotshot247
Level 1
Level 1

Post by hotshot247 »

that's the first thing i tried and linux mint 12 is different from 11 because it uses the gnome shell desktop and it's a little different.

lwrver
Level 2
Level 2

Post by lwrver »

I noticed that "right-click>add-to-desktop/panel" options are also missing. Maybe these functions are to be part of MATE, which I haven't been able to find yet.

tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14

Post by tdockery97 »

I may be doing it the "hard" way, but I just log out of GNOME, log into "Gnome Classic", put the icons I want on the desktop, log back out and back into GNOME (gnome-shell), and there they are.
Mint Cinnamon 19.3

Ajc
Level 2
Level 2

Post by Ajc »

doesn't work for me ...

I'm running it virtually at the moment ... and holding the left mouse button and dragging to the desktop doesn't do anything ??

any help appreciated ...

proxima_centauri
Level 11