[SOLVED] No sound in VLC in Mint 12

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
lexx

[SOLVED] No sound in VLC in Mint 12

Post by lexx »

I’m new to mint and just installed mint 12 64bit. But I’v been playing with Ubuntu for about a year.
Can’t get VLC to play sound. I’ve tried play mp3 and 3 or 4 different video formats. I’ve tried same files in other programs and they work fine. I’ve looked at the settings and tried changing the output modules which had no effect. I could have made a stupid misstake.
What should I try next?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
lmike

Re: No sound in VLC in Mint 12

Post by lmike »

Try setting 'output module' to ALSA audio output in settings dialog under audio tab.
I also have set my output device.
crazybilly

Post by crazybilly »

I just gave that a go without much luck--still no sound. Bizarre. Not really sure how to troubleshoot it either.
Grozours

Post by Grozours »

I have exactly the same problem, and I don't think it comes from the config because, I copied the .config/vlc/vlcrc file from my working ubuntu system, and after ensuring the vlc configuration was updated, I still has no sound :cry:
mystic_v

Post by mystic_v »

Try this instead:
In the vlc audio settings,
Select UNIX OSS audio as the output and ex: /dev/dsp or whatever your sound device mount point is.
It solved the issue for me.
lexx

Post by lexx »