Page 1 of 1

SOLVED _ LM12 Standard Account - can't add search engine

Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:43 pm
by mag
In my LM12 Administrator account it was straightforward to add Google search engine to Firefox.

In my wife's Standard account it just doesn't seem to work - the 'Add Google' message doesn't appear in the drop-down after following the manage search engine instructions.

Is this a known issue, or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Re: LM12 Standard Account - can't add search engine to Firef

Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:12 pm
by coolpup
mag wrote:In my LM12 Administrator account it was straightforward to add Google search engine to Firefox.

In my wife's Standard account it just doesn't seem to work - the 'Add Google' message doesn't appear in the drop-down after following the manage search engine instructions.

Is this a known issue, or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks
I'm guessing you clicked on the Manage Search Engines, and then clicked on Get more search engines. You'll get another page. Near the bottom of that one is something that says Other Engines. Click on the one you want to add. Then click on the black down arrow in the search window and just above Manage Search Engines, you should see Add "search engine name", which would be the search engine you want to add. You may have to do it a couple of times, because it doesn't always seem to catch the first time for some reason. I added a couple of them, as a regular user, while writing this.

Re: SOLVED _ LM12 Standard Account - can't add search engine

Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:05 am
by mag
Thanks for trying this out coolpup.

I'd tried a dozen or so times, reinstalled firefox, removed noscript and ABP+ etc

Turned out that the problem was that her FF account was in private browsing mode. Set to remember history and it worked first time!

Seasons Greetings to all at Mint and Mint Forum :D