help sound how tos for linux mint alsa and pulse audio

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
exneo002
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:29 pm

help sound how tos for linux mint alsa and pulse audio

Postby exneo002 » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:41 pm

I have linux mint 4.0 installed on my hd in my hp pavilion a819n box and sound doesn't work by default so what is the best way to get sound to work in linux mint 4.0 how do I install pulse audio is it easier to get sound working than alsa how do I install the drivers I've got without use the terminal cept to run bash scripts

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: help sound how tos for linux mint alsa and pulse audio

Postby Husse » Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:09 pm

Welcome to Mint exneo002
If you use punctuation it's much easier to read.....
You can find pulseaudio in the repos so I think you can just install
I'm no good at this, I wait until the next generation of Mint which I think will have it by default.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

cmost
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Newport, Kentucky

Re: help sound how tos for linux mint alsa and pulse audio

Postby cmost » Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:26 am

I installed and configured PulseAudio, just to check it out. While the new system has a lot of potential and will make a fine addition to the next generation of Linux Mint (the Linux sound system is in dire need of an update) it's sadly not ready for prime time in my opinion. Some applications will fail to produce sounds while still others will behave erratically in terms of sound. My advice would be to wait until PulseAudio is further improved and stabilizes somewhat before using it on a primary workstation. If you still want to set it up, I can probably provide some assistance. Good luck. :-)


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, benchrest, Mjjhle, Pierre, Tomgin5, xdicey, yex and 21 guests