Problems with Mint 12 [Solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Total_Blue
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:01 pm

Problems with Mint 12 [Solved]

Post by Total_Blue »

I am running Mint 12 under Virtualbox to try and get a feel for it and learn how to use it. I've set it up with a 30gb Hard drive, 4 gb of memory, 128 Mb of display memory and have 3d Acceleration enabled.

I really like the look and feel of it. Everything installed fine and though the Software Manager is a bit on the slow side, that's not a big issue.

My problem is that Mint 12 will periodically refresh on me, in that the screen will go blank, then come back up again. A few times when this has happened, after it comes back, I have lost the menu so have to reset Mint 12 to be able to do anything again. I can't even close any open programs before resetting. I even tried re-installing it from scratch to see if that would help. Any suggestions?

I don't know if it helps, but I am running an AMD video card on the main system and am using the 32 bit DVD install of Mint 12.
Last edited by Total_Blue on Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
hefff
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:30 pm

Re: Problems with Mint 12

Post by hefff »

ive heard bout such problems since i read alot of the forums this days, but it probly depends mostly on the model of ur card try google: AMD video card linux problems or check this threads:
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=c ... hics+Cards
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1900000
Total_Blue
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:01 pm

Re: Problems with Mint 12

Post by Total_Blue »

hefff wrote:ive heard bout such problems since i read alot of the forums this days, but it probly depends mostly on the model of ur card try google: AMD video card linux problems or check this threads:
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=c ... hics+Cards
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1900000
Thank you for the suggestion. I saw in another thread that someone suggested logging in using Gnome Classic. I tried that but really don't like the look of it, so I tried logging in using Mate, and so far, that seems to be working.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”