Mounted Volumes

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
wjwheels
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Paradise
Contact:

Mounted Volumes

Postby wjwheels » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:38 pm

I like to show the mounted volumes on my desktop. When I insert a CD I like to see it show up. However, my drive containing my windows system (dual-boot) shows up on the desktop when I boot. There is nothing in that folder that I use in Linux. I can unmount it with the terminal command "sudo umount /dev/hdb1", but the next time I boot, it shows up again. How can I make the unmount command permanent?

TIA
Wheels
Quit your princess!
98% of the world doesn't care about your problems.
The other 2% are happy you have them.

User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3077
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby Zwopper » Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:23 pm

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/fstab

and comment it out.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Ubuntu 16.04

User avatar
wjwheels
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Paradise
Contact:

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby wjwheels » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:24 pm

That did it. You came through again. I just put a little "#" in front of the only line where I saw it mentioned. I still see it in "Computer", but it's not mounted.
Quit your princess!
98% of the world doesn't care about your problems.
The other 2% are happy you have them.

User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3077
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby Zwopper » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:41 am

wjwheels wrote:That did it. You came through again. I just put a little "#" in front of the only line where I saw it mentioned. I still see it in "Computer", but it's not mounted.

Glad I could help! :D
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea
CREA DIEM!

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Ubuntu 16.04

derekr44
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby derekr44 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:42 pm

You can also use /etc/fstab to permanently mount USB drives if you leave them plugged in (like a WD MyBook).


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests