Need to boot mint 12 64bit into failsafe graphics

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
nkostaki

Need to boot mint 12 64bit into failsafe graphics

Post by nkostaki »

Hi,

yup, I'm a newbie; or, relatively one as I've played around with Linux about 5 years ago, was dismayed, and back to Windows.

Now I'm trying again but have come across this problem: I can't find a way in mint 12 recovery menu to boot with failsafe graphics. In mint 11, which I did a clean reinstall over today, after entering recovery (SHIFT pressed down) you get an option to boot with failsafe graphics. In mint 12 this optionis gone. How can I have this back?

The full story:

My new HP Proliant Microserver N40L (which I'm planning to use as an always-on DLNA server plus my play-with-Linux-again pc has an embedded ATI/AMD Radeon HD 4420 graphics chip. I initially installed Mint 11 w/ Gnome 64bit, which said I could activate an additional driver for -fglrx. at that point resolution could only go up to 1024x768 (4:3) and my monitor (LG W1934S, 16:9) was not detected. After activating the driver (and rebooting) my monitor went blank showing an "out of range" message "Horizontal 75 KHz/60 Hz".

I rebooted, kept SHIFT pressed, went into recovery and booted with failsafe graphics.