could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Leon8200
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:15 am

could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by Leon8200 »

Hi all, I'm looking at this on amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/ ... ition=used

will that work on my lenovo IBM thinkcentre-A52 or should I get something else?
I have never upgraded anything so I don't know what I am looking for and I thought I should ask here before doing anything.
Image
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9831
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by phd21 »

Hi Leon8200,

You first have to determine how much system memory (Ram) you have, how many memory slots the computer has, what the maximum amount of memory the computer can have, and the pin count for the memory slot connection. A quick Internet check on this lenovo IBM thinkcentre-A52 computer states:
Maximum Memory = 4gb
Standard Memory = 1gb
Memory Slots = 2
Form Factor = Dimm
Pin Count = 240
Module Type = PC2-3200,

The computer came with PC2-3200 memory chips, you can use those or, or PC2-4200/5300 DDR2 SDRAM DIMMs. or PC2-5400 DDR2.
You cannot mix memory chip types, they must be the same type with 240 pin.

If it were me, I would max this computer out by getting two 2gb memory chips, for a total of 4gb. Your computer will work so much better and faster by maxing out the memory with the fastest memory chips.


see my next reply, not sure why the forum duplicated the reply. I could not delete this reply.
Last edited by phd21 on Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint 20 and 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9831
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by phd21 »

Hi Leon8200,

You first have to determine how much system memory (Ram) you have, how many memory slots the computer has, what the maximum amount of memory the computer can have, and the pin count for the memory slot connection. A quick Internet check on this lenovo IBM thinkcentre-A52 computer states:
Maximum Memory = 4gb
Standard Memory = 1gb
Memory Slots = 2
Form Factor = Dimm
Pin Count = 240
Module Type = PC2-3200,

The computer came with PC2-3200 memory chips, you can use those or, or PC2-4200/5300 DDR2 SDRAM DIMMs. or PC2-5400 DDR2.
You cannot mix memory chip types, they must be the same type with 240 pin.

If it were me, I would max this computer out by getting two 2gb memory chips, for a total of 4gb. Your computer will work so much better and faster by maxing out the memory with the fastest memory chips.

From what I just checked, the link you provided should work for your computer, but they are used memory chips. I have provided some other links. It would be smart to check the model number to verify that the memory is compatible, ex: A52 8297-xxx, or A52 (8382W4T). Faster memory means faster processing speed. These sites are offering new memory chips with lifetime warranties. I am sure that if you checked Amazon.com, there will be other sellers that sell this memory new with lifetime warranties, see link below.

The link below from Amazon seller "Komputerbay" is a very good deal, and I have memory from them that works well. This looks like it would work well with your computer.

Amazon.com -Pc2-5300 2gb 240 pin
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss? ... gb+240+pin

*** Amazon.com - Komputerbay 4GB ($26.20) 2X 2GB DDR2 667MHz PC2-5300 PC2-5400 DDR2 667 (240 PIN) DIMM Desktop Memory
http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-667MH ... gb+240+pin


MemoryC.com - A52 (8382W4T)
https://www.memoryc.com/lenovo-ibm-desk ... grade.html

2GB A-Data DDR2 PC2-5400 667MHz CL5 desktop memory module
https://www.memoryc.com/computermemory/ ... opcl5.html

MemoryStock.com - A52 8297-xxx
http://www.memorystock.com/memory/IBMTh ... 97xxx.html

2GB DDR-2 667 DIMM ThinkCentre A52 8297-xxx Memory RAM, Memorystock Part No: 728ms-728
2048MB-667MHz DDR2-667 PC2-5300, 240p DIMM, 1.8v. Price for single 2gb stick.
You need two of these at $15.95 - $19.95 each
https://www.memorystock.com/orderitem.a ... dlId=57774

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint 20 and 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
yaye
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:38 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by yaye »

Leon8200 wrote:Hi all, I'm looking at this on amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/ ... ition=used

will that work on my lenovo IBM thinkcentre-A52 or should I get something else?
I have never upgraded anything so I don't know what I am looking for and I thought I should ask here before doing anything.
+

Hello,

First of all, how much memory do you have installed currently, and how did you determine that?

The link you provided goes to:

Micron 1gb 2rx8 Pc2-5300f-555-11-b0 Ddr2 667 Cl5 Ecc Mt18htf12872fdy-667d6d4

The Ecc probably refers to Error-correcting code memory (ECC). This type is memory is usually used in servers, not desktop systems. Each of the modules is only 1 gb, so you will only get half of the maximum amount of memory your system can handle. Your system has two slots for memory modules. If you don't already have 4 gb installed, like phd21 said, it would be better to get two 2 gb modules for a total of 4 gb.

EDIT: found this at the Lenovo Website: https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/documents/pd006096

Memory
400MHz DDR2 (Double Data Rate) dual channel memory support
PC2-4200 (533MHz) memory supported
PC2-5300 (667MHz) memory supported
Two 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM UDIMM sockets
Supports a maximum memory up to 4GB
If 4GB of physical memory is installed approximately 3GB will be useable by the operating system. This is due to limitations from the address mapping of PCI busses and other system devices.
ECC or parity memory is not supported

So the memory you linked to is not supported.
Unregistered Desktop Linux User since 1998 (Redhat 5.0 "Hurricane").
User avatar
Leon8200
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:15 am

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by Leon8200 »

Thanx for the replies guy's, and your time :D , if the RAM on the link I provided is not going to work on my rig because of the (ECC) thing then I don't know what to get, I was hoping to find something on amazon for $10 or less as I am out of work right now and can't afford much else, I currently have 512 MB of ram + 300 MB swap, I'm running linux mint 17.3 mate (32 bit) , I think If I can just get 1024 MB of RAM I'll ditch the swap and it will just work perfectly, I just don't know what would work with my system :?
Image
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9831
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by phd21 »

Hi "Leon8200",

From the first Amazon.com link I provided before:

$10.50 Komputerbay 2GB, 2x 1GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667Mhz 240 Pin DIMM 2 GB KIT
http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-DDR2- ... gb+240+pin


$10.35 - 2GB kit (1GBx2) DDR2 PC2-5300 DESKTOP Memory Modules (240-pin DIMM, 667MHz) Genuine A-Tech Brand
http://www.amazon.com/PC2-5300-DESKTOP- ... gb+240+pin


$6 - 1GB PC2-5300 (667Mhz) 240 pin DDR2 DIMM Samsung (BZN)
http://www.amazon.com/PC2-5300-667Mhz-D ... gb+240+pin


$8.95 - Crucial / 1GB / 240-pin DIMM / DDR2 PC2-5300 / Desktop Memory
http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-240-pin-P ... gb+240+pin


$12.51 + $4.48 shipping - Samsung 2GB DDR2 RAM 667MHz PC2-5300 240-Pin DIMM Major/3rd
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-667MHz-PC ... gb+240+pin

Not sure about this, but
$7.29 - BESTRUNNER 2 GB 1X2GB PC2-5300 5300U DDR2-667 MEMORY DIMM PC Unbuffered DESKTOP RAM 1X2GB 240 PIN
http://www.amazon.com/BESTRUNNER-PC2-53 ... gb+240+pin

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint 20 and 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
User avatar
Derek_S
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1278
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Long Island, N.Y.

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by Derek_S »

Hello Leon8200 - If you've already installed Linux Mint, then you can use the dmidecode command to check the specs of your system's installed memory. Open the Terminal and enter "sudo dmidecode --type memory". He is an example of the output you will find:

john@john-ThinkPad-T400 ~ $ sudo dmidecode --type memory
[sudo] password for john:

# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0007, DMI type 5, 20 bytes
Memory Controller Information
Error Detecting Method: None
Error Correcting Capabilities:
None
Supported Interleave: One-way Interleave
Current Interleave: One-way Interleave
Maximum Memory Module Size: 4096 MB < Amount of memory currently installed
Maximum Total Memory Size: 8192 MB < Max. amount of memory
Supported Speeds:
Other
Supported Memory Types:
DIMM
SDRAM
Memory Module Voltage: 2.9 V
Associated Memory Slots: 2 < Number of memory slots
0x0008
0x0009
Enabled Error Correcting Capabilities:
Unknown

Handle 0x0008, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: DIMM Slot 1
Bank Connections: 0 1
Current Speed: 42 ns
Type: DIMM SDRAM
Installed Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0009, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: DIMM Slot 2
Bank Connections: 2 3
Current Speed: 42 ns
Type: DIMM SDRAM
Installed Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x002B, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
Location: System Board Or Motherboard
Use: System Memory
Error Correction Type: None
Maximum Capacity: 8 GB
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Number Of Devices: 2

Handle 0x002C, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x002B
Error Information Handle: No Error
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 2048 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: DIMM 1
Bank Locator: Bank 0/1
Type: DDR3 < Memory type
Type Detail: Synchronous
Speed: 1066 MHz < Memory speed in MHz
Manufacturer: 8394 < Manufacturer code
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: 0000
Part Number: 991643 < Manufacturer P/N (http://poweredbymushkin.com/index.php/c ... essentials)

Handle 0x002D, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x002B
Error Information Handle: No Error
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 2048 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: DIMM 2
Bank Locator: Bank 2/3
Type: DDR3
Type Detail: Synchronous
Speed: 1066 MHz
Manufacturer: 8394
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: 0000
Part Number: 991643

john@john-ThinkPad-T400 ~ $
"Truth is becoming rarer and rarer as time passes. It is only a matter of time before it will cease to exist."
yaye
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:38 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by yaye »

Regardless of what memory you finally buy, when you go to install it, make sure you touch bare metal before you touch it or the installed memory and system board. If you have static electricity built up on you, you can zap the memory or system board and ruin them. Even better would be an anti-static strap, but it would likely cost just as much as the memory itself.
Unregistered Desktop Linux User since 1998 (Redhat 5.0 "Hurricane").
User avatar
Leon8200
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:15 am

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by Leon8200 »

Derek_S wrote:Hello Leon8200 - If you've already installed Linux Mint, then you can use the dmidecode command to check the specs of your system's installed memory. Open the Terminal and enter "sudo dmidecode --type memory". He is an example of the output you will find:

john@john-ThinkPad-T400 ~ $ sudo dmidecode --type memory
[sudo] password for john:

# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0007, DMI type 5, 20 bytes
Memory Controller Information
Error Detecting Method: None
Error Correcting Capabilities:
None
Supported Interleave: One-way Interleave
Current Interleave: One-way Interleave
Maximum Memory Module Size: 4096 MB < Amount of memory currently installed
Maximum Total Memory Size: 8192 MB < Max. amount of memory
Supported Speeds:
Other
Supported Memory Types:
DIMM
SDRAM
Memory Module Voltage: 2.9 V
Associated Memory Slots: 2 < Number of memory slots
0x0008
0x0009
Enabled Error Correcting Capabilities:
Unknown

Handle 0x0008, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: DIMM Slot 1
Bank Connections: 0 1
Current Speed: 42 ns
Type: DIMM SDRAM
Installed Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0009, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: DIMM Slot 2
Bank Connections: 2 3
Current Speed: 42 ns
Type: DIMM SDRAM
Installed Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x002B, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
Location: System Board Or Motherboard
Use: System Memory
Error Correction Type: None
Maximum Capacity: 8 GB
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Number Of Devices: 2

Handle 0x002C, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x002B
Error Information Handle: No Error
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 2048 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: DIMM 1
Bank Locator: Bank 0/1
Type: DDR3 < Memory type
Type Detail: Synchronous
Speed: 1066 MHz < Memory speed in MHz
Manufacturer: 8394 < Manufacturer code
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: 0000
Part Number: 991643 < Manufacturer P/N (http://poweredbymushkin.com/index.php/c ... essentials)

Handle 0x002D, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x002B
Error Information Handle: No Error
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 2048 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: DIMM 2
Bank Locator: Bank 2/3
Type: DDR3
Type Detail: Synchronous
Speed: 1066 MHz
Manufacturer: 8394
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: 0000
Part Number: 991643

john@john-ThinkPad-T400 ~ $
thanx for the reply,

Code: Select all

joel@ThinkCentre-A52 ~ $ sudo dmidecode --type memory
[sudo] password for joel: 
# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS 2.34 present.
# SMBIOS implementations newer than version 2.8 are not
# fully supported by this version of dmidecode.

Handle 0x0022, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
	Location: System Board Or Motherboard
	Use: System Memory
	Error Correction Type: None
	Maximum Capacity: 4 GB!
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Number Of Devices: 4

Handle 0x0023, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0022
	Error Information Handle: No Error
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 512 MB
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: 1
	Locator: J9
	Bank Locator: CH_A_DIMM0
	Type: DDR
	Type Detail: Synchronous
	Speed: 400 MHz
	Manufacturer: Not Specified
	Serial Number: Not Specified
	Asset Tag: Not Specified
	Part Number: Not Specified

Handle 0x0024, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0022
	Error Information Handle: No Error
	Total Width: Unknown
	Data Width: Unknown
	Size: No Module Installed
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: 1
	Locator: J10
	Bank Locator: CH_A_DIMM1
	Type: DDR
	Type Detail: Synchronous
	Speed: 400 MHz
	Manufacturer: Not Specified
	Serial Number: Not Specified
	Asset Tag: Not Specified
	Part Number: Not Specified

Handle 0x0025, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0022
	Error Information Handle: No Error
	Total Width: Unknown
	Data Width: Unknown
	Size: No Module Installed
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: 1
	Locator: J3
	Bank Locator: CH_B_DIMM0
	Type: DDR
	Type Detail: Synchronous
	Speed: 400 MHz
	Manufacturer: Not Specified
	Serial Number: Not Specified
	Asset Tag: Not Specified
	Part Number: Not Specified

Handle 0x0026, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0022
	Error Information Handle: No Error
	Total Width: Unknown
	Data Width: Unknown
	Size: No Module Installed
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: 1
	Locator: J4
	Bank Locator: CH_B_DIMM1
	Type: DDR
	Type Detail: Synchronous
	Speed: 400 MHz
	Manufacturer: Not Specified
	Serial Number: Not Specified
	Asset Tag: Not Specified
	Part Number: Not Specified

joel@ThinkCentre-A52 ~ $ 
and my ram stick has 62 pins then a slit in the board and then another 54 pins (with the sticker on the chip facing me) so 116 !? pins
Image
blenda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:51 pm

Re: could someone please help me with upgrading my RAM

Post by blenda »

HI Leon8200

I'm newbie in Linux, but have some experience in buying and installing memories. That said, I suggest you to try with "Memory Stock" , www.memorystock.com , ( 7746, Lorraine Ave. # 207, Stockton, CA 952109) they are the best source for any memory upgrade; the chat support is the best one I know, they are going to guide you till you install them and are really working fine. They have a little program that detects in your computer machine the memories you have installed, so they can recommend you de same ones or other similar or best, I did it 2 month ago and they are working fine. To install you don't have to do anything but follow their instructions. If you live in USA they send you de memories in 2 to 3 days. You can chat with them about your Linux O.S. before downloading the detecting program.

I hope this can be helpful for you, have a good day.
Cheers. :)
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”