[SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

[SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:05 am

For some reason Shift+Print Screen doesn't work.
I can press Print Screen normally to get the whole screen, but pressing it with shift to take a selection doesn't do anything.

EDIT:
According to viewtopic.php?t=202909 you need the command to wait before taking.
I still see this as a bug though :/
EDIT AGAIN: Aaaand it doesn't seem to work for me
Last edited by LEGOlord208 on Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:05 am, edited 6 times in total.
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

DeMus
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by DeMus » Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:08 am

With normal printscreen don't you get a window in which you can make a new printscreen just the way you want it: rectangle, active window, whole screen, all of that delayed or not delayed?
Which DE are you using?

User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:09 am

DeMus wrote:With normal printscreen don't you get a window in which you can make a new printscreen just the way you want it: rectangle, active window, whole screen, all of that delayed or not delayed?
Which DE are you using?
I'm using Cinnamon.
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

DeMus
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by DeMus » Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:18 am

I googled this a bit and found that there is a package called gnome-screenshot (https://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/3314)
Does this work for you? I don't know Cinnamon.

User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:19 am

DeMus wrote:I googled this a bit and found that there is a package called gnome-screenshot (https://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/3314)
Does this work for you? I don't know Cinnamon.
Thanks, I know about this =)
But any built in or custom keyboard shortcut with Ctrl+PrintScr doesn't seem to trigger...
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

User avatar
chrisuk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:16 am

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by chrisuk » Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:35 am

The only way that I've found works OK is this:

Create the following script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
sleep 1
exec /usr/bin/mate-screenshot $@
(replace "mate-screenshot" with whichever program cinnamon uses)

If you haven't done so already, create a bin folder in your /home for scripts (bash looks in that path for scripts anyway) and copy the script there. Save it as something meaningful... maybe area-screenshot and make it executable. Then add a keyboard shortcut with area-screenshot -a as the command.
Chris

Manjaro MATE - MX Linux - LMDE MATE

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9745
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by Moem » Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:43 am

LEGOlord208 wrote:For some reason Shift+Print Screen doesn't work.
I can press Print Screen normally to get the whole screen, but pressing it with shift to take a selection doesn't do anything.
It works for me but I have to tap PrtSc VERY briefly, not press it. Have you tried that?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:03 am

Thank you both! Setting up a script for it worked. Pressing it briefly - did not
EDIT:
If you also have this problem and you are like me - Don't like having scripts laying around...
Just do

Code: Select all

sh -c "sleep 0.1 && gnome-screenshot -a"
I do wonder however... Why does this work?
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7400
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by Flemur » Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:43 pm

xfce4-screenshooter works (for me, at least) with no fiddling or additional scripts, and shows a GUI with time delay, select area/window, etc.
I have
PrintScr -> launch scrot to save the whole screen.
Ctrl+PrintScr -> launch xfce4-screenshooter and its GUI.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 2:21 am

Flemur wrote:xfce4-screenshooter works (for me, at least) with no fiddling or additional scripts, and shows a GUI with time delay, select area/window, etc.
I have
PrintScr -> launch scrot to save the whole screen.
Ctrl+PrintScr -> launch xfce4-screenshooter and its GUI.
Well the most annoying thing is that there is a DEFAULT shortcut for Shift+PrntScr...
So it shouldn't be necessary to either create a custom shortcut or use another application :/

So while there are temporary solutions it's yet a bug and should be fixed... I think
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7400
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by Flemur » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:29 am

LEGOlord208 wrote:So it shouldn't be necessary to either create a custom shortcut or use another application :/
Well, I'm using fluxbox and define all that stuff myself (it's so much easier with fluxbox than with any other DE); I just mentioned my preferred setup.
Last edited by Flemur on Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9745
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by Moem » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:32 am

LEGOlord208 wrote: Well the most annoying thing is that there is a DEFAULT shortcut for Shift+PrntScr...
So it shouldn't be necessary to either create a custom shortcut or use another application :/
It isn't really. Shift+PrtSc works for me, ever since I found out how to tap it very briefly instead of pressing it. Since it's not working for you, I bet you are pressing it. Like I did in the beginning, too.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:53 am

Moem wrote:
LEGOlord208 wrote: Well the most annoying thing is that there is a DEFAULT shortcut for Shift+PrntScr...
So it shouldn't be necessary to either create a custom shortcut or use another application :/
It isn't really. Shift+PrtSc works for me, ever since I found out how to tap it very briefly instead of pressing it. Since it's not working for you, I bet you are pressing it. Like I did in the beginning, too.
Since it worked for you I tried...
Again...
And suddenly..


I realized I was supposed to HOLD IT down... Not press it "briefely" (or normally for me).
Hold it for a few seconds...

How strange O_o
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9745
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by Moem » Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:02 pm

LEGOlord208 wrote: Since it worked for you I tried...
Again...
And suddenly..


I realized I was supposed to HOLD IT down... Not press it "briefely" (or normally for me).
Hold it for a few seconds...

How strange O_o
So it's working? Awesome! \o/

Yeah, maybe I should have been clearer (or elaborated more). I hold the shift key and tap the printscreen key. And then the cursor changes into a crosshair and I can select a screen area.
Kudos to you, for not giving up!
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
LEGOlord208
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Shift+PrintScr?

Post by LEGOlord208 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 1:56 pm

Moem wrote:
LEGOlord208 wrote: Since it worked for you I tried...
Again...
And suddenly..


I realized I was supposed to HOLD IT down... Not press it "briefely" (or normally for me).
Hold it for a few seconds...

How strange O_o
So it's working? Awesome! \o/

Yeah, maybe I should have been clearer (or elaborated more). I hold the shift key and tap the printscreen key. And then the cursor changes into a crosshair and I can select a screen area.
Kudos to you, for not giving up!
Thanks! I'll give you some as well =)
EDIT: Oh, I thought Kudos was like "Karma" on Reddit, but I can't find it, heh :P

I think I understood perfectly, and that is the strange part.
You said I should tap it quickly, right?
But to me it's the opposite! I have to press and hold it for a little time. Very weird!
Windows <- Worst
Mac <- Haven't tried, probably better TBH (it has bash!!)
Ubuntu <- Best
Linux Mint <- What do you call better than best?
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”