Problem solved: Can't access my BIOS config!

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
Doug B
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Location: Canada

Problem solved: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by Doug B »

I recently built a new computer. I installed LMDE 2 and everything went well.

The only problem is that now, I cannot access the BIOS. I tried F2 and Del but the computer just continued booting.

Any ideas?

TIA.

Doug
Last edited by Doug B on Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6377
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by all41 »

Well your new motherboard definitely has a bios entry mode--Investigate that mfg link.
It could be F1 f2 f12 esc, del, I have seen others. Some require tapping the key, others pressing
Light travels faster than sound.
That's why some people appear smart until you hear what they are saying.
Doug B
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Location: Canada

Re: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by Doug B »

all41 wrote:Well your new motherboard definitely has a bios entry mode--Investigate that mfg link.
It could be F1 f2 f12 esc, del, I have seen others. Some require tapping the key, others pressing
Yes, and as I said previously, it was F2 or Del for bios entry mode. That worked before when I had Mint Linux
Cinammon based on Ubuntu installed. But now that I installed LMDE 2, there is no longer any bios access!

And yes, I tried as many key combinations as I could think of.

BTW-my BIOS is by American Megatrends and I am using an ASUS Motherboard and AMD A10 processor.
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6377
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by all41 »

Here is the thing.
Yes, and as I said previously, it was F2 or Del for bios entry mode. That worked before when I had Mint Linux
All this happens well before your computer knows anything about the operating system you wish to load.
Light travels faster than sound.
That's why some people appear smart until you hear what they are saying.
Gurnsy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:12 pm

Re: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by Gurnsy »

Did you need to change any usb legacy settings while installing LMDE2?

If your using a usb keyboard, it may not be getting initialized until the os has booted due to the bios not initializing some usb devices at post time.

If you have a usb to ps2 adapter and have the appropriate ps2 kb port you may be able to use that. Otherwise you may need to open the case and short out the cmos pins to reset your bios.

Cheers
Doug B
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Location: Canada

Re: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by Doug B »

Problem solved: The problem was caused by having my keyboard plugged into a powered usb hub. The system wouldn't recognize the keyboard when plugged into the hub. I plugged the keyboard into a usb port on the motherboard and it worked when I pressed F2.
Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4863
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Problem solved: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by Habitual »

I always check the physical first. :)
Removing any "variables" in the way., is a good first step.

Good job and well done.
User avatar
JerryF
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4617
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by JerryF »

Doug B wrote:Problem solved: The problem was caused by having my keyboard plugged into a powered usb hub. The system wouldn't recognize the keyboard when plugged into the hub. I plugged the keyboard into a usb port on the motherboard and it worked when I pressed F2.
Yay! Great to hear.
*** IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts. ***
Doug B
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Location: Canada

Re: Problem solved: Can't access my BIOS config!

Post by Doug B »

Habitual wrote:I always check the physical first. :)
Removing any "variables" in the way., is a good first step.

Good job and well done.
It's a new one on me! :oops:

Ah well, next time I'll know better. :roll:

Thanks everyone.

Doug
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”