Combining Cinnamon and XFCE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Combining Cinnamon and XFCE

Post by dcihon »

Sorry for jumping in here.
I may have missed it but isn't the problem with doing this you might have duplicate packages that do the same thing in your menu choices.
Like a file manager for cinnamon and xfce?
Won't your menus show duplicate packages no matter what DE you pick at login?
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
acerimusdux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:36 pm

Re: Changing from Cinnamon to XFCE

Post by acerimusdux »

dcihon wrote:Like a file manager for cinnamon and xfce?
Won't your menus show duplicate packages no matter what DE you pick at login?
The menu definitions are supposed to exclude items from showing up in incompatible desktops. But often they are compatible. There might be nothing wrong with running nemo on XFCE, for example.
Last edited by acerimusdux on Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: Changing from Cinnamon to XFCE

Post by dcihon »

You are correct they will run no matter what DE you choose.
I was mostly coming from the fact the you might see or have multiple entries in your menu just a visual point of view.
You could always modify the menu so you know which one you are clicking on like:
File Manager - XFCE
File Manager - Cinnamon
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11609
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Combining Cinnamon and XFCE

Post by Moem »

Mod note: Split off from a different topic.
dcihon, if you feel the need to apologise for what you're about to do, that's a pretty good sign that you just shouldn't do it. Please start your own topics even if the subject is related; your questions deserve their own topics too, and there is no extra charge. :wink:
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: Combining Cinnamon and XFCE

Post by dcihon »

Thanks Moem
I was just trying to address an issue of using multiple DE.
That is where i say the topic changing to at some point in the discussion.
I have done that with KDE and XFCE and it got a little confusing with all the duplicate packages that each DE comes with.
Just was going to be a word of warning.
The best way I found to handle it was have a different user for each DE.
That sets up a different home folder for each user then they can separate the DE config files from each other.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”