Can't mount SD card

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

I have an SDHC SanDisk 16 GB card which will not mount in the laptop, but works OK in the camera, and I can transfer pictures to the laptop when connecting the camera via USB. The card is not locked.
I also have an SD Kingston 128 MB card which mounts OK in the laptop.
Gparted tells me that the 128 MB card is formatted to FAT 16, but I can't establish the formatting of the 16 GB card.
Any help, please.........

Linux Mint 18.2 Mate 64 bit and the camera is a Fujifilm Finepix SL.

Edited to add:
The card used to work OK, and I'm wondering if this is relevant. I'm not sure when things went wrong, but may have been coincident with an OS update.

Code: Select all

The SDHC format is also reverse compatible, meaning that devices that can read SDHC cards can also read SD cards, but devices that can only read SD formats cannot use cards that have the SDHC format. 
Source
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9763
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by catweazel »

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t vfat /dev/<device> <mountpath>
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

Thank you, but I don't know what to put in to describe the <device> and <mountpath>
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12003
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by austin.texas »

You can get that information with the command

Code: Select all

lsblk -f
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9763
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by catweazel »

You need to identify the device. Use this:

Code: Select all

lsblk
Once you've correctly identified it, do this:

Code: Select all

udisksctl mount -b /dev/sdX1
Where sdX is the identified device and 1 is the partition number.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

Thanks for the help.
I got it mounted -once, and saw all the pics, as expected.
I need to run gparted to check and change, if necessary, the format, but couldn't get gparted to start, so did a reboot.
Now I'm getting this

Code: Select all

normh@normh-nspire2 ~ $ lsblk
NAME        MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sr0          11:0    1  1024M  0 rom  
sda           8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk 
├─sda5        8:5    0   3.9G  0 part [SWAP]
└─sda1        8:1    0 461.9G  0 part /
mmcblk0     179:0    0  14.9G  0 disk 
└─mmcblk0p1 179:1    0  14.9G  0 part 
normh@normh-nspire2 ~ $ udisksctl mount -b /dev/mmcblk0p1
Error looking up object for device /dev/mmcblk0p1
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12003
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by austin.texas »

Use sudo

Code: Select all

sudo udisksctl mount -b /dev/mmcblk0p1
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

I've got it mounted, [hurrah!] and gparted is telling me it's formatted to FAT32, which is what one would expect for this size card.
So why won't it mount in the normal manner, 'cos it used to?
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

So, mounted with an icon on the desktop, clicking the icon I get this....[screenshot] telling me that the file is of an unknown type, but gparted says it's fat 32.
And yet earlier, [when it was just called "disk"] the contents were displayed.

Another thing I've noticed is that when mounting in the CLI it takes quite a few minutes to be recognised.
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12003
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by austin.texas »

What is the current result of

Code: Select all

lsblk -f

Can you see the contents in your file manager?
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

lsblk -f shows:

Code: Select all

normh@normh-nspire2 ~ $ lsblk -f
NAME        FSTYPE LABEL UUID                                 MOUNTPOINT
sr0                                                           
sda                                                           
├─sda5      swap         9c193b4f-2dc5-4dce-a67a-a23dcdbbd9d3 [SWAP]
└─sda1      ext4         7b9f42b1-3564-4d7c-a7b9-793f34344d1d /
mmcblk0                                                       
└─mmcblk0p1 vfat                                              /media/root/disk
normh@normh-nspire2 ~ $ 
File Manager and gparted show:
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12003
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by austin.texas »

Let's try something other than udisksctl.
Do:

Code: Select all

sudo umount /dev/mmcblk0p1

Code: Select all

sudo mount /dev/mmcblk0p1
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

Code: Select all

normh@normh-nspire2 ~ $ sudo umount /dev/mmcblk0p1
[sudo] password for normh: 
normh@normh-nspire2 ~ $ sudo mount /dev/mmcblk0p1
mount: can't find /dev/mmcblk0p1 in /etc/fstab
Just tried a little experiment............
Restarted and put in the fat 16 128MB card - mounted straight away.
Restarted and put in the fat 32 16GB card - wouldn't mount.

Lowest common denominator seems to be the file system...............

Time to call it quits for today - many thanks for your help, and I'll look in again tomorrow.
wibbly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:13 am

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by wibbly »

I have a similar problem. If I format an SD card using an old Windows vista laptop it formats fat32, i can put it into the Linuxmint desktop and it mounts. If I format it using Linuxmint, it won't mount?
Linuxmint 64bit version Always the latest version
Intel i5 4690k @ 3.50Ghz x 4
Ram 8GB
WD Black 1TB
GEForce GT460SE 1GB
Faust

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by Faust »

wibbly wrote:I have a similar problem. If I format an SD card using an old Windows vista laptop it formats fat32, i can put it into the Linuxmint desktop and it mounts. If I format it using Linuxmint, it won't mount?
I also have this type of situation occasionally .
I have a bunch of used HDDs which are very useful for various projects , but they usually need reformatting .
Much as I love Linux ( and I use Gparted regularly ) there are times when I have to go back to Partition Wizard in Windows to get the job done ,
and it irritates me greatly !

There must be something going on "under the hood " , but I can't work out what this basic difference is .

Any clues anybody ?
wibbly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:13 am

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by wibbly »

30 minutes ago, I tried formatting an Sd card in the Linux machine, I changed the label at the same time.
It said 'Done', so I removed it and inserted it again.
Nothing, didn't mount. It also completely shut down my card reader unit. No lights. Zero.
Fired up ye olde laptop, used that to format the card. The card still had the old label on it, Linux had done nothing with the card, not even changed the label.
After formatting on Windows, I rebooted the Linux machine, the card reader was reactivated.
Inserted the SD card and it mounted and worked normally.

This has only started following recent updates over the last few months, and I have no idea why?
Linuxmint 64bit version Always the latest version
Intel i5 4690k @ 3.50Ghz x 4
Ram 8GB
WD Black 1TB
GEForce GT460SE 1GB
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

It's reassuring, in a way, that I'm not alone here.

When I mount the card using the "sudo udisksctl mount -b /dev/mmcblk0p1" command it mounts after about a minute, but gives an "unknown file type" error when trying to open it.

gParted takes another minute scanning before finding it, then the drop-down menu to "Format" only gives the option to "unmount" - the rest are greyed out.

Methinks this needs a far better brain than mine to resolve...............
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12003
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by austin.texas »

norm.h wrote:gParted takes another minute scanning before finding it, then the drop-down menu to "Format" only gives the option to "unmount" - the rest are greyed out.
You can't perform operations like giving it a new format while it is mounted - so unmount it. And don't forget to click the APPLY button on the toolbar in Gparted to complete the operations.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

Ah yes, silly me....
Anyway, formatted the card in the camera [which doesn't say what format] then tried to mount in laptop - no change.
Then re-formatted as fat 32 in the laptop, [after mounting with the previous command] but still no change.

Guess I'll have to rely on connecting the camera with USB.
norm.h
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Can't mount SD card

Post by norm.h »

So almost 2 years on, after several new kernels, an upgrade to 18.3, and prompted by a post on another site I had another try.
The 128 MB SD card mounted right away, but the SDHC 16GB card took about 30 seconds to mount.
Both cards have only 5 or 6 images on them.

I therefore don't really have a problem, but it seems that it's a question of time to read the larger card.
Could I be right or am I talking rubbish?
Locked

Return to “Hardware Support”