No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:45 am

Hi

I have no sound via the speakers in the laptop or the headphone jack. Microphone works fine as does sound via HDMI.

The Realtek codec is ACL 1220 - which I read it is only supported in kernel 4.11 or later.

I have tried:
- Use OSS4
- Use Kernel 4.9, 4.10, 4.11, 4.12, 4.13 (multiple versions of each)
- Updated firmware in Mint to 1.164.1
- Several modifications of alsa-base.conf
- Used the daily source for alsa

Strange part is Mint thinks there speakers and headphones are working fine, signals for sound are being sent and volume control works fine - no "Dummy Output" or anything like that.

I even put Windows on to check that the sound card itself wasn't damaged.

Output of aplay -l (4.8 kernel)

Code: Select all

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: Generic Analog [Generic Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: Generic Digital [Generic Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Output of aplay -l (4.11+ kernel):

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC1220 Analog [ALC1220 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC1220 Digital [ALC1220 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by JoeFootball » Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:17 am

hound5777 wrote:Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Try pavucontrol? More info from the Easy Linux Tips Project, on the "No Audio in Linux Mint" page.

Joe

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:54 pm

JoeFootball wrote:
hound5777 wrote:Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Try pavucontrol? More info from the Easy Linux Tips Project, on the "No Audio in Linux Mint" page.

Joe
Hi Joe, thanks for the reply

I have pavucontrol, its shows:
HDA NVidia Digital Stereo (HDMI)
- HDMI / DisplayPort

Built-in Audio Analogue Stero
- Speakers
- Headphones

Profiles are available for Built-in Audio are:
Analogue Stereo Output
Analogue Stereo Duplex
Digital Stereo (IEC958) Output
+A lot more combinations of HDMI + 5.1, 7.1 etc

All channels are un-muted in Alsa Mixer

I have tried a lot of combinations but no luck.

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:04 pm

Might have a theory, from lspci, I can see 2 "Audio Devices".

Intel Corporation Device
NVidia HD Audio Device

My laptop does have a GTX 1070 inside, is it possible sound is routing to the wrong card?

User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by JoeFootball » Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:33 am

hound5777 wrote:... is it possible sound is routing to the wrong card?
That would be interesting. :)

Whoever has the answer here will probably want to see the output of...

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Joe

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:08 pm

*Crosses fingers*

Code: Select all

System:    Host: bane Kernel: 4.13.0-041300rc4-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: Notebook (portable) product: NP859
           Mobo: Notebook model: NP859
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 1.05.03 date: 07/14/2017
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22464
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 2800 MHz 2: 2800 MHz 3: 2800 MHz
           4: 2800 MHz 5: 2800 MHz 6: 2800 MHz 7: 2800 MHz 8: 2800 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 1ba1 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 3840x2160@60.01hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 1070 with Max-Q Design/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.69 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA Device 10f0 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel Device a171 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: ALSA v: k4.13.0-041300rc4-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Device 24fd driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 06:00.0
           IF: wlp6s0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: NA (-) ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: N/A size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 901G used: 8.5G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 17.06GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 65.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:57C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 249 Uptime: 15 min Memory: 1845.2/15926.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

User avatar
greerd
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by greerd » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:53 pm

My batting average for helping people with sound problems is low, so I'm hesitant to jump in these threads, but I noticed you haven't tried running alsamixer yet. There are some setting in alsamixer that afaik are not in pavucontrol, specifically the PCM volume control. It should be maxed out to 0dB (or 100%). The sound card can be changed using F6 if it isn't already displayed. Alsamixer is run from the terminal. Good Luck

User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by JoeFootball » Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:45 pm

hound5777 wrote:Kernel: 4.13.0-041300rc4-generic
Have you tried a more stable kernel?
hound5777 wrote:Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA Device 10f0 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
Card-2 Intel Device a171 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
That does look like two sound cards.

Joe

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:38 am

JoeFootball wrote:
hound5777 wrote:Kernel: 4.13.0-041300rc4-generic
Have you tried a more stable kernel?
hound5777 wrote:Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA Device 10f0 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
Card-2 Intel Device a171 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
That does look like two sound cards.

Joe
Yes, tried pretty much everything from 4.4 to 4.13 - just haven't gone back to the old kernel as it hasn't seem to make any difference!

I've never seen the 2 sound cards before - even with laptops with NVidia graphics cards.

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:45 am

greerd wrote:My batting average for helping people with sound problems is low, so I'm hesitant to jump in these threads, but I noticed you haven't tried running alsamixer yet. There are some setting in alsamixer that afaik are not in pavucontrol, specifically the PCM volume control. It should be maxed out to 0dB (or 100%). The sound card can be changed using F6 if it isn't already displayed. Alsamixer is run from the terminal. Good Luck
Yeah, was getting that impression!

Tried alsamixer: unmuted everything / mute hdmi + unmuted speakers

Also tried every combination in pavucontrol - every single one

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:10 pm

greerd wrote:My batting average for helping people with sound problems is low, so I'm hesitant to jump in these threads, but I noticed you haven't tried running alsamixer yet. There are some setting in alsamixer that afaik are not in pavucontrol, specifically the PCM volume control. It should be maxed out to 0dB (or 100%). The sound card can be changed using F6 if it isn't already displayed. Alsamixer is run from the terminal. Good Luck
Read that wrong! Please jump in :)

User avatar
greerd
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by greerd » Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:14 pm

I've suggested this before and it didn't work, but its the only thing I can think of and that is to install the latest alsa daily build.
Follow the instructions here and try the oem-audio-hda-daily-lts-xenial-dkms - 0.201708220446~ubuntu16.04.1 package.
Note the procedure also includes an uninstall if it doesn't work.

Good luck!

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:38 am

greerd wrote:I've suggested this before and it didn't work, but its the only thing I can think of and that is to install the latest alsa daily build.
Follow the instructions here and try the oem-audio-hda-daily-lts-xenial-dkms - 0.201708220446~ubuntu16.04.1 package.
Note the procedure also includes an uninstall if it doesn't work.

Good luck!
Thanks for the suggestion, just tried that - doesn't work but screenshot shows what it does do.

So I am thinking that the "HDA NVidia" is the card that is connected to the speakers, just need an option for it to output to speakers rather than just HDMI. Or disable the "Built-in Audio"

Does anyone know how to do that?!

User avatar
catweazel
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by catweazel » Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:44 am

I have the ACL1220 and it works perfectly with kernel 4.11.0-14.
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

hound5777
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by hound5777 » Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:02 am

Yeah, after my first "Google", I thought 4.11 would do it. No luck though...

User avatar
catweazel
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by catweazel » Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:20 am

I don't know what source you used, but this is how I got mine working...
http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/
Download:
linux-headers*_all.deb
linux-headers*lowlatency*_amd64.deb
linux-image*lowlatency*_amd64.deb

Install in that order. You can just start them from the file manager or:

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg -i ...
Finally:

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
reboot
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

Jeremy J
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:39 pm

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by Jeremy J » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:43 pm

What was the fix to get audio working with Realtek ACL1220? I have a new Mint 18.3 install with all new hardware and I cant get sound to work anywhere. Nothing looks muted.

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by ClixTrix » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:11 pm

Jeremy J wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:43 pm
What was the fix to get audio working with Realtek ACL1220? I have a new Mint 18.3 install with all new hardware and I cant get sound to work anywhere. Nothing looks muted.
Which Kernel are you running? If you haven't updated the Kernel, try 4.13 latest. Go to Update Manager and check under View for Linux Kernels.

If that doesn't help, please provide system info by running the following command from Terminal and post back the results.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-24-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung EVO 960 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

Jeremy J
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:39 pm

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by Jeremy J » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:26 pm

jj@Jbox ~ $ uname -r
4.15.4-041504-generic
jj@Jbox ~ $ inxi -Fxs
System: Host: Jbox Kernel: 4.15.4-041504-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 7.2.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine: System: Gigabyte product: AX370-Gaming K5 v: Default string
Mobo: Gigabyte model: AX370-Gaming K5-CF v: x.x
Bios: American Megatrends v: F3 date: 06/16/2017
CPU: Hexa core AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 38397
clock speeds: max: 3200 MHz 1: 1376 MHz 2: 1375 MHz 3: 1374 MHz
4: 1376 MHz 5: 1375 MHz 6: 1376 MHz 7: 1366 MHz 8: 1377 MHz
9: 1386 MHz 10: 1459 MHz 11: 1374 MHz 12: 1330 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 67ef bus-ID: 09:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,amdgpu (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,radeon)
Resolution: 3840x2160@30.00hz
GLX Renderer: AMD POLARIS11 (DRM 3.23.0 / 4.15.4-041504-generic, LLVM 5.0.0)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1457
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 12:00.3
Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device aae0
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 09:00.1
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.4-041504-generic
Network: Card: Intel I211 Gigabit Network Connection
driver: igb v: 5.4.0-k port: f000 bus-ID: 06:00.0
IF: enp6s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
mac: 1c:1b:0d:ef:82:97
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (1.6% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST1000DX002 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 909G used: 7.5G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.54GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 29.9C mobo: N/A gpu: 34.0
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 275 Uptime: 22 min Memory: 1610.3/7988.3MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: No Audio - Realtek ACL1220

Post by ClixTrix » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:52 pm

I don't have experience on Kernel 4.15 (yet). Too early. However, most members have their Ryzen's on 4.13 or a few (like me) on 4.14 using Mainline. The ALC1220 wasn't supported until Kernel 4.11 and worked (per prior member's post on this thread).

Honestly, all the hardware changes and adds to 4.15 make me step back for awhile. Don't know if that's the problem or not.

I would try installing 4.13 for a test and chose that Kernel from Grub Options at boot.

You may need to update BIOS. Since you have the same as me for options (see my sig), I'd at least try F10 or F20. F21 and F22b (beta) look like more than we need.....I've been tracking reports.

FYI....I have the ALC887, so I worked fine on Kernel 4.10 for many months until I switched to 4.14 last month.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-24-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung EVO 960 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”