[SOLVED] Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
thanosfrag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:23 am

[SOLVED] Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by thanosfrag » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:11 am

Hi, I have a somewhat peculiar problem with my wifi connection. I am running a freshly installed LM 18.3 xfce 64bit alongside Windows 7. While the second one finds all my wifi networks, the first one finds other networks but not my home wifi. Here is what I have done so far:

(1) activated propriatery drivers
(2) checked whether ethernet works- indeed, laptop does connect with the cable.
(3) I also tried to connect to a hidden network, but no success.
(4)I looked for similar posts on the forum and found a similar one (viewtopic.php?t=232418), but the suggested solution didn't work.

Below is the terminal output of the following three commands (inxi -Fxz, rfkill list all, iwconfig)

Code: Select all

[b]$ inxi -Fxz[/b]
System:    Host: mtoshiba Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0) Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: TOSHIBA (portable) product: Satellite L655 v: PSK1JE-0FU00DGE
           Mobo: TOSHIBA model: Portable PC Bios: INSYDE v: 2.40 date: 11/09/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3 M 380 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10132
           clock speeds: max: 2533 MHz 1: 1199 MHz 2: 2533 MHz 3: 1733 MHz 4: 933 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Park [Mobility Radeon HD 5430/5450/5470] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.10.0-38-generic, LLVM 4.0.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cedar HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5400/6300 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8152 v1.1 Fast Ethernet
           driver: atl1c v: 1.0.1.1-NAPI port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter driver: bcma-pci-bridge bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0b1 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (1.3% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST9500325AS size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 108G used: 6.2G (6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 54.5
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 203 Uptime: 12 min Memory: 961.9/3813.4MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
[b]~ $ rfkill list all[/b]
0: Toshiba Bluetooth: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
2: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
[b]$ iwconfig[/b]
wlp3s0b1  IEEE 802.11  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=30 dBm  
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
         
lo        no wireless extensions.

enp2s0    no wireless extensions.
Any suggestions?
Last edited by thanosfrag on Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10878
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by JeremyB » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:34 am

Change the channel your router is on to 1 to 11 as that is a limitation with Broadcom modules

thanosfrag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:23 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by thanosfrag » Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:45 am

Thank JeremyB!

i did some research and found this link (https://www.howtogeek.com/197268/how-to ... ng-system/)

However, when I use the following iwlist command to list the channels

Code: Select all

$ sudo iwlist wlan0 scan | grep Frequency | sort | uniq -c | sort -n
or

Code: Select all

sudo iwlist wlan0 scan | grep \(Channel
I get the following

Code: Select all

wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10878
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by JeremyB » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:40 am

Try

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
As your wireless interface is not named wlan0 but it is wlp3s0b1

thanosfrag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:23 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by thanosfrag » Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:00 pm

iwlist scan command yields the following response

Code: Select all

 ~ $ iwlist scan
wlp3s0b1  No scan results

lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

enp2s0    Interface doesn't support scanning.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10878
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by JeremyB » Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:57 pm

It doesn't find any networks at all, try

Code: Select all

echo "blacklist ssb" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom.conf

Code: Select all

echo "blacklist b43" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom.conf

Code: Select all

sudo sed -i 's/wifi.powersave = 3/wifi.powersave = 2/' /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/default-wifi-powersave-on.conf
Reboot.

The first 2 commands keep a couple modules from loading that may conflict with the module that is needed and the third command keeps wifi power management from being enabled by Network Manager. I have one of these cards and it will not find any networks on a 2.4 Ghz channel higher than 11

thanosfrag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:23 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by thanosfrag » Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:38 am

I tried all commands, but no success.

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
enp2s0    Interface doesn't support scanning.

lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlp3s0b1  No scan results

thanosfrag
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:23 am

Re: Laptop finds other networks but not my home wifi

Post by thanosfrag » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:22 pm

Problem solved by changing the route channel as suggested by JeremyB. Kudos to JeremyB!

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”