Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
yogi799
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:38 pm

Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by yogi799 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:59 pm

Guys,
I hook up my Mint 18 Mate to a work projector which changes my resolution to 1024x768 or something like that. I have 10 or so apps pinned to my "quicklaunch" (little panel next to start button) so that is permanently taking a bit of my "taskbar" horizontal space. When I am connected to the projector my horizontal space on the panel/taskbar shrinks to almost nothing and after opening 4-5 apps, they lose their icons and captions because they are squeezed too much.

I desperately need a Windows-like feature where you could extend the taskbar to a double functional height (not aesthetic one, i know how to do that). Apparently there was some buggy applet to do that but i never got it to work. I know this has been discussed in the past but I am hoping that new additions (18.3? etc) can resurrect the idea.

Can this be added to the feature request? This is a make or break it issue for me. I simply cannot use Mint for work if the active app tabs are indiscernible due to being squeezed too much. I literally don't know what to click on. Two lines would solve this perfectly, much like it does in Windows.

Is there hope on the horizon?

keithrboz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:26 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia OZ

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by keithrboz » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:09 am

Right click on the task bar, select properties, change the pixel count
Keith Bainbridge

keithrbauaptop@gmail.com

yogi799
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:38 pm

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by yogi799 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:02 am

No, that feature is weird. It increases everything to crazy levels (that is not what I am after if you've read my post) and then when things are so big they are jumping out of the screen, two lines of taskbar apps will appear (that is what I want but NOT AFTER the first part of this sentence and large size of everything else). Does not work.

arsivci
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by arsivci » Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:57 am

Maybe adding an extra panel can be a temporary solution to your problem.
LMDE 64 Cinnamon | Once, there were windows...

yogi799
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:38 pm

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by yogi799 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:59 am

How do I add a second panel???

yogi799
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:38 pm

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by yogi799 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:01 am

Are the MINT people watching these forums? Can this be added to the features request? I presume no answer to this question means they're not reading all threads...

Their contact page suggested posting on the forum, that's why I did. Although I am sure Mint does not have double height panel in the present distr.

Schallaven
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:42 am

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by Schallaven » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:29 am

They do read these forums; that does not mean they see, read, and answer every single thread. If you want to be sure to be seen, then maybe open up an issue on the Github page for the MATE-panel.
kittykernel - a cat-friendly, custom kernel manager for Linux Mint and other Debian derivates. Take a look or two here: Releases Github
Your argument is irrelephant - it's lacking elephants.

Dave B
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by Dave B » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:26 pm

Hi,
Did you see my possible workaround reply in your other same topic thread?
viewtopic.php?f=206&t=263215

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7899
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by jimallyn » Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:34 am

I stumbled upon how to make a two-row panel on 18.3 XFCE, but don't remember exactly how it's done. But it's in there somewhere! No idea if MATE will do that or not.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

arsivci
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by arsivci » Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:53 pm

yogi799 wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:59 am
How do I add a second panel???
I do not have access to Mate system but on Cinnamon, right click pnel, go to panel settings, click add new panel. Should be something similar in Mate, I presume. I know it is not exactly the requested feature, but it might help OP.
LMDE 64 Cinnamon | Once, there were windows...

arsivci
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by arsivci » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:00 pm

Or let your child play with your PC, you will have two rows and can't take it back:
https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... -to-single :D
LMDE 64 Cinnamon | Once, there were windows...

Dave B
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by Dave B » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:14 pm

jimallyn wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:34 am
I stumbled upon how to make a two-row panel on 18.3 XFCE, but don't remember exactly how it's done. But it's in there somewhere! No idea if MATE will do that or not.
Funny you should mention that, popped on here today to say about Xfce edition supporting multiple panels rows, actually supports from 1-6 rows. :)

- Xfce edition How-to:
Right click on the panel selecting the following -> 'Panel' -> 'Panel Preferences...' -> 'Number of rows:'

keithrboz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:26 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia OZ

Re: Desperately need double functional height of taskbar.

Post by keithrboz » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:52 pm

How do I add a second panel???

Right click on existing panel, choose 'Add Panel'; then move it where you want it.
Keith Bainbridge

keithrbauaptop@gmail.com

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”