After 2nd shutdown will not load desktop

Archived topics about LMDE 2
Locked
solarmax
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:33 pm

After 2nd shutdown will not load desktop

Post by solarmax » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:59 pm

[Solved] Hi there. After my first install of LMDE-2 Cinnamon. removed DVD and rebooted: all fine. was set ti log in automatically. Ran updates/upgrades, continued working; all fine. Shut down computer for the night, rebooted in morning came up with desktop that hangs and hangs. Pressed F1 as per prompt to select user, put in ID and p/w, screen goes black then has error message "unable able to load Cinnamon desktop" below which is a prompt "logout" Doing so just repeats the same cycle. I have reinstalled , re-updated, and everything works just fine. Any ideas please why this happened? And how to prevent it? I have not shut down system yet in case it happens again. I am running HP Pavilion t660a 2.8GHZ with 512MB RAM. Thank you. :?

Installed MATE desktop as per suggestion, restarted computer and it booted straight into Cinnamon desktop without any bother. So thanks all who made suggestions. :D
Last edited by solarmax on Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
"The only dumb question is a question you don't ask." (Paul McCready, inventor.)

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9179
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: After 2nd shutdown will not load desktop

Post by Pierre » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:06 pm

if you are indeed running HP Pavilion t660a 2.8GHZ with 512MB RAM.,
then that's likely to be the main issue: - - Cinnamon is quite heavy & your PC only has 512Mb ?.

you need to do two things:
- upgrade to 1Gb of ram, At Least !.
- change to a lighter Desktop like Mate or Xfce & thus not run Cinnamon as your Desktop.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

solarmax
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:33 pm

Re: After 2nd shutdown will not load desktop

Post by solarmax » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:29 am

Thank you for your reply. Is it possible to downgrade to Mate desktop without complete reinstall? :)
"The only dumb question is a question you don't ask." (Paul McCready, inventor.)

zorzi

Re: After 2nd shutdown will not load desktop

Post by zorzi » Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:11 am

You may try via the terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install mate-desktop-environment-extras
Then you will have to select Mate at the mdm login screen.

But 512 MB RAM is very few. You should upgrade your ram.

Locked

Return to “LMDE 2 "Betsy" Archive”