No MBR partition on working installation (SOLVED)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
yertchuk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:30 pm

No MBR partition on working installation (SOLVED)

Post by yertchuk » Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:42 pm

My Mint 19 installation is working perfectly. Installation was done by taking the 'erase disk and install' option. Afterwards I shrank the / partition and created an NTFS partition to store data from previous Windows installations.

This is what I have now: https://imgur.com/cc65aBl

I was expecting to see an MBR partition. Is what I have what you would expect? As I say, the installation is working perfectly; no glitches, no strange effects.
Last edited by yertchuk on Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3771
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: No MBR partition on working installation

Post by JerryF » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:34 pm

An MBR is not really a partition, but a sector at the beginning of a hard disk.

Not sure what you expect to see. What you have looks good.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

yertchuk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: No MBR partition on working installation

Post by yertchuk » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:52 pm

Thanks Jerry. I was expecting to see a 512 byte DOS partition as sda1, with sda2 being the main ext4 partition.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3771
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: No MBR partition on working installation

Post by JerryF » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:56 pm

If memory serves, you might be thinking of the ancient days of 1990's. :wink:
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

yertchuk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: No MBR partition on working installation

Post by yertchuk » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:20 pm

JerryF wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:56 pm
If memory serves, you might be thinking of the ancient days of 1990's. :-)
Or perhaps even earlier!
So am I right in thinking that the MBR data is stored on the sectors that come before the start of sda1?
sda1_info.png

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11219
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: No MBR partition on working installation

Post by karlchen » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:34 pm

yertchuk wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:20 pm
So am I right in thinking that the MBR data is stored on the sectors that come before the start of sda1?
Correct. MBR - Master Boot Record. Record, not partition. Is located where it has always been, at the beginning of the disk. Before the first partition.
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 32-bit xfce Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 32-bit
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

yertchuk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: No MBR partition on working installation

Post by yertchuk » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:38 pm

Thanks Karl and Jerry. All understood now.

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11219
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: No MBR partition on working installation (SOLVED)

Post by karlchen » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:55 pm

Addendum:
UEFI boot systems, they will use a (512 MB) FAT32 boot partition. And Grub-Efi will go there.
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 32-bit xfce Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 32-bit
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”