KeyCmd to switch between fullscreen app and desktop?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
lazarus
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Location: Oberon, OZ

KeyCmd to switch between fullscreen app and desktop?

Post by lazarus »

LM18.3 Cinnamon X64

Is there any key combination which will switch from a full-screen application, such as a game, back to the cinnamon desktop? I don't think so, but I'm far from being a guru on these matters.

I've been playing a game (natively) which will only run in fullscreen mode and relies on check-points that are far'n'few between... These check-points are not at all obvious until the next time a save is reloaded.

I'm also running an alarm applet in the BG which has multiple events throughout the day. Currently, when an alarm goes off I need to fully quit the game to get back to desktop and silence the alarm, often resulting in much lost progress in the game. Literally hours worth at times.

Just to clarify; I'm not talking about switching between desktops, terminals or work spaces [Ctrl-Alt-F#] or [Ctrl-Alt-L/R_Cur] but switching between screen modes.

I've tried launching the game from Terminal 2 and it was a beggar to get running, although I eventually worked out a way. Sadly, when running, the app over-rides the default keyboard settings and the [Ctrl-Alt-F#] keys won't work so that was a wasted exercise. I still needed to quit the game in order to be able to get to the desktop to silence the alarm. :sigh:

Suggestions please?
- Andy

I may be weird but I'm saving up to become eccentric.
User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8959
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: KeyCmd to switch between fullscreen app and desktop?

Post by jimallyn »

F11 works for many programs.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan
lazarus
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Location: Oberon, OZ

Re: KeyCmd to switch between fullscreen app and desktop?

Post by lazarus »

Unfortunately, not for this one. But thx for the suggestion.
- Andy

I may be weird but I'm saving up to become eccentric.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”