[SOLVED]Using external antenna on router

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

[SOLVED]Using external antenna on router

Post by Charlie » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:44 am

I have a router a Netgear WNDR3700 V4 and it has no external aerial, or apparent capability of hosting one. It does though have a USB port. I was wondering if it is possible to plug in a Alfa network card into that port and then attach an external antenna to the Alfa?
Last edited by Charlie on Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11060
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by Pjotr » Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:04 am

Probably not. Try to improve its signal like this:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... ify-signal
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by Charlie » Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:13 am

Pjotr wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:04 am
Probably not. Try to improve its signal like this:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... ify-signal
I have asked in the DD-WRT forum. It might just be a matter of adding the driver for the Alfa card. It is quite inhospitable so I may not receive a response.

I am looking to set up a point to point network to share a broadband connection with a building some distance from me.

Cheers for the reply, I will try it.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11060
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by Pjotr » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:57 am

You might want to consider a wireless Ethernet bridge:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... -wireless-
(item 2, right column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by Charlie » Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:11 pm

Pjotr wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:57 am
You might want to consider a wireless Ethernet bridge:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... -wireless-
(item 2, right column)
Thanks but the network I want to set up involves too much distance for that solution I think. We are talking separate buildings.

I think a point to point network would work but I lack a router capable of transmitting a powerful enough signal and also have no option of adding a more powerful external antenna. I was thinking about a yagi on an outside wall, then another yagi on the receiving end pointed to my set up with a clean line of sight.

If two people are to share the cost of a fast connection then it is only feasible if the speed/connection quality is worthwhile.

I am being ignored on the DD-WRT forum, typically. Which means nobody has the skill to do it or it's too stupid to answer, whatever.

To make it work it will probably mean a new router capable of connecting to a yagi antenna. I would have preferred a USB connection because I heard there is a lot of loss from coax but not so much from USB.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2873
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by AZgl1500 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:47 pm

Charlie wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:11 pm


Thanks but the network I want to set up involves too much distance for that solution I think. We are talking separate buildings.

I think a point to point network would work but I lack a router capable of transmitting a powerful enough signal and also have no option of adding a more powerful external antenna. I was thinking about a yagi on an outside wall, then another yagi on the receiving end pointed to my set up with a clean line of sight.
what about using a Range Extender like this one?
you can put a Yagi Antenna on one of the 3 ports

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/n ... X7000.aspx

it has a 700 mW transmitter and a sensitive receiver and multiband capability.


you local laptop would just link to the Range Extender.

a friend of mine is using this to get access to this home router from his metal shop building about 200 feet away, he placed it near an open glass window.

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by Charlie » Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:22 pm

AZgl1500 wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:47 pm
Charlie wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:11 pm


Thanks but the network I want to set up involves too much distance for that solution I think. We are talking separate buildings.

I think a point to point network would work but I lack a router capable of transmitting a powerful enough signal and also have no option of adding a more powerful external antenna. I was thinking about a yagi on an outside wall, then another yagi on the receiving end pointed to my set up with a clean line of sight.
what about using a Range Extender like this one?
you can put a Yagi Antenna on one of the 3 ports

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/n ... X7000.aspx

it has a 700 mW transmitter and a sensitive receiver and multiband capability.


you local laptop would just link to the Range Extender.

a friend of mine is using this to get access to this home router from his metal shop building about 200 feet away, he placed it near an open glass window.
That looks good. I will have to think about it. This is not going to be cheap is it.

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: Using external antenna on router

Post by Charlie » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:53 am

I think a Wavlink A600 will do the job I want.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wavlink-AC60 ... rk:1:pf:0

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2873
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]Using external antenna on router

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:18 pm

seems to spec out good for you, with the 1,000 milliWatt TX it ought to help you out.

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: [SOLVED]Using external antenna on router

Post by Charlie » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:06 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:18 pm
seems to spec out good for you, with the 1,000 milliWatt TX it ought to help you out.
Yeah I think the Dbi can be increased by swapping the 2.4 and 5G antennae. Although that would probably make it directional or extremely directional, which is fine, if there is only one client and you know the direction to point it.

User avatar
Faust
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:40 am

Re: [SOLVED]Using external antenna on router

Post by Faust » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:18 am

Just a side note -
You can make an effective directional wifi antenna out of the tube that a well-known brand of "pseudo potato chips" comes in .

The tube is already lined in foil , has a metal base and is pretty much the right diameter !
Google will surely locate a "how-to " guide ..... :D
" And so it goes " - Kurt Vonnegut
The modern reality and the satirical parody are rapidly converging .

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless”