[SOLVED] Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
James_Smith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:41 pm

[SOLVED] Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by James_Smith »

It's a relatively fresh installation of Linux Mint 19 (Cinnamon). In Firefox, I've tried to find it in Preferences (not there) and in about.config (also not there.

In Chromium, I found some command line stuff online and tried it with no success.

Here's my hw/sw information:

Code: Select all

mac@mac-Alienware-15-R3:~$ inxi -Fxzd
System:    Host: mac-Alienware-15-R3 Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Alienware product: Alienware 15 R3 v: 1.2.4 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Alienware model: Alienware 15 R3 v: A00 serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: Alienware v: 1.2.4 date: 01/25/2018
Battery    BAT1: charge: 67.3 Wh 100.0% condition: 67.3/99.0 Wh (68%)
           model: COMPAL PABAS0241231 status: Full
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-MT-MCP-) 
           arch: Skylake rev.9 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22464
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 800 MHz
           4: 800 MHz 5: 800 MHz 6: 800 MHz 7: 800 MHz 8: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060 Mobile] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.02hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel CM238 HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-36-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2500 Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: alx port: d000 bus-ID: 3c:00.0
           IF: enp60s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath10k_pci bus-ID: 3d:00.0
           IF: wlp61s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Atheros usb-ID: 001-003
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 6001.2GB (37.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WDBNCE0010PN size: 1000.2GB temp: 32C
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WDS200T2B0B size: 2000.4GB temp: 39C
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: TOURO_S size: 1000.2GB temp: 0C
           ID-4: USB /dev/sdd model: 003_HN size: 2000.4GB temp: 0C
           Optical: No optical drives detected.
Partition: ID-1: / size: 1.8T used: 217G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 48.5C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 308 Uptime: 13:06 Memory: 5588.4/15910.0MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
Last edited by James_Smith on Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
sudo apt-get --purge remove macOS

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 24286
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by xenopeek »

For Firefox:
- type about:config in the address bar and press Enter to go there
- accept the warning
- right-click in the list and select New -> Boolean from the context menu
- name it:
network.protocol-handler.expose.magnet
- and set value to false

Next time you click on a magnet link Firefox should prompt you with which application to open it.

I don't know for Chromium.
Image

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4266
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by trytip »

if you use firejail with browsers, magnetlinks won't work. what i do is rightclick on the magnet copy link address, or copy location then in qbittorrent i use Add Torrent Link and the magnet is saved and ready for download.

but you don't say what error you get and what you use for torrents
Image

gm10
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11000
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by gm10 »

xenopeek wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:05 pm
For Firefox:
You don't need to configure anything browser-specific as long as you've got a file type handler configured for magnet links. For the Mint-default Transmission client that would be

Code: Select all

x-scheme-handler/magnet=transmission-gtk.desktop;
Verify you've got that in ~/.config/mimeapps.list.

James_Smith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:41 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by James_Smith »

gm10 wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:55 pm
xenopeek wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:05 pm
For Firefox:
You don't need to configure anything browser-specific as long as you've got a file type handler configured for magnet links. For the Mint-default Transmission client that would be

Code: Select all

x-scheme-handler/magnet=transmission-gtk.desktop;
Verify you've got that in ~/.config/mimeapps.list.
I use Tixati. Do I just replace transmission with tixati in your instruction above? Should that work?
sudo apt-get --purge remove macOS

gm10
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11000
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by gm10 »

James_Smith wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:27 pm
I use Tixati. Do I just replace transmission with tixati in your instruction above? Should that work?
No, that won't work. You need the name of Tixati's launcher and that one needs to be set up correctly to allow passing command line parameters. I don't know the package at all so I cannot help you other than saying that if you installed it via a debian package (.deb, repo or PPA) then

Code: Select all

apt contains packagename
(replace packagename with the actual name of the package you installed) will include the name of the .desktop file you'll need to add to mimeapps.list.

sarge816
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:04 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by sarge816 »

I also use Tixati and have the same exact problem with each new Mint install. Copy and paste this in terminal:

Code: Select all

xdg-mime default tixati.desktop x-scheme-handler/magnet
That has always worked for me in Firefox (I don't use Chrome).

gm10
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11000
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by gm10 »

sarge816 wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:39 pm
I also use Tixati and have the same exact problem with each new Mint install. Copy and paste this in terminal:

Code: Select all

xdg-mime default tixati.desktop x-scheme-handler/magnet
That has always worked for me in Firefox (I don't use Chrome).
Thx, I couldn't remember the xdg command, I always just add it to the file directly when I have to, but for posting I much prefer the command you gave. ;) I can confirm this works in all Chromium browsers, too.

User avatar
freshtamatic
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: Magnet links not working in either Chromium or Firefox

Post by freshtamatic »

Thank you all! Its Solved!

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”