how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
52ROSt
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:01 am

how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Post by 52ROSt » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:07 am

LM 19.1 Cinnamon

I installed from the SW Manager "nwipe" and understand that this is terminal application.

How do I start this program in the terminal?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Last edited by 52ROSt on Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Neil Edmond
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: how to start nwipe

Post by Neil Edmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:37 am

Open a terminal window, then type nwipe and press enter.

User avatar
philotux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Utopia

Re: how to start nwipe

Post by philotux » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:42 am

I have never used this CLI tool (sort of disclaimer), but you can have a read on it:

Code: Select all

nwipe -h

Code: Select all

man nwipe
Maybe you could consider "Disks" utility, which have an option to overwrite all existing data on a device with zeroes while formatting it:
disks3.png

User avatar
52ROSt
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:01 am

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Post by 52ROSt » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:11 am

Thanks for your replies. Disk is "nuked"

Typing only "nwipe" even used with sudo does not work.

Key was

Code: Select all

nwipe -h
This list all parameters which are possible. I used:

Code: Select all

sudo nwipe --method=gutmann [device] 
The Disk tool can also be used, I used this first with writing zeros but wanted to understand the nwipe command.

Neil Edmond
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Post by Neil Edmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:46 pm

52ROSt wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:11 am
Typing only "nwipe" even used with sudo does not work.
Hmm...works for me (without sudo). :?: Anyway, glad you got it going. Sorry I wasn't much help.

User avatar
52ROSt
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:01 am

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Post by 52ROSt » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Typing only

Code: Select all

nwipe
was my first attempt as well.

As it did not work, I posted my question here.

Which LM version are you using?

User avatar
52ROSt
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:01 am

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Post by 52ROSt » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:44 pm

@Neil Edmond
Sorry I wasn't much help.
Don't worry you did what works at your machine. I appreciated this.

Neil Edmond
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Post by Neil Edmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:50 pm

52ROSt wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm
Which LM version are you using?
Several... but was on 17.3 Rosa Mate 64-bit when I tested launching nwipe.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”