NAS mount fstab

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
dudesplace
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:15 pm

NAS mount fstab

Post by dudesplace » Sat May 04, 2019 12:28 pm

Still have no solution to mounting NAS, and two fold I can't get it to show in Conky either.
Pre LM 19 I used to use in fstab:

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000 0 0
After a

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /media/NAS1
t


I get fail to mount error (22)with this in fstab:

Code: Select all

//192.169.1.8/WORKGROUP;Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000,vers=1.0,sec=ntlm 0 0
or

Code: Select all

//192.169.1.8/WORKGROUP;share:Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000,vers=1.0,sec=ntlm 0 0


On another LM19.1 box I used Gigolo and it works fine with this info in Gigolo:

Code: Select all

smb://WORKGROUP;share:admin@192.168.1.8/Download/
and it works fine as far as mounting the NAS and showing it on the desktop.

Not sure what I am doing wrong, but all suggestions at this point have failed.
LM19.1 Tessa
Linux 4.15.0-48-generic on x86_64
NAS is a QNAP T-119 with firmware 4.3.3.0868
Mint19.1-ASUS-Intelx2 2.7GHz-8GB-nVidia 1Gb
Mint19.1-DELL PowerEdge-Xeonx4 2.4GHz-16GB-nVidia 2Gb
Mint19-ASRock-AMD2800x2 2.8GHz-2GB-nVidia 2Gb
Lite-Toshiba-AMD 2.2GHz-2Gb-Radeon256Mb
Bodhi-Acer-AMD1600Mhz-2GB-SIS 128Mb

rene
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4161
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: NAS mount fstab

Post by rene » Sat May 04, 2019 12:45 pm

The vers=1.0 from your second line is probably the issue (as in, needed) but why did you in that one use the syntax //192.169.1.8/WORKGROUP;Download rather than just //192.168.1.8/Download as before?

User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9298
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: NAS mount fstab

Post by phd21 » Sat May 04, 2019 1:05 pm

Hi dudesplace,

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

These links may be useful:

[SOLVED] Network drive/shares not mounted at boot up
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2383327

Mount Samba share on Ubuntu and Debian - TecAdmin
https://tecadmin.net/mounting-samba-share-on-ubuntu/

Ubuntu 18.04: Install cifs-utils for SMB client - Narrow Escape
https://www.hiroom2.com/2018/05/04/ubun ... -utils-en/

Mounting network drive on boot : Ubuntu
https://www.reddit.com/r/Ubuntu/comment ... t/?depth=2

Mount Windows Shares For Everyone on Ubuntu 17.04 / 17.10 | Website for Students
https://websiteforstudents.com/mount-wi ... -04-17-10/

Ubunutu 18.04 - How to automount a CIFS? - CIFS/SMB - openmediavault
https://forum.openmediavault.org/index. ... nt-a-CIFS/

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

dudesplace
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:15 pm

Re: NAS mount fstab

Post by dudesplace » Sat May 04, 2019 2:34 pm

rene wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 12:45 pm
The vers=1.0 from your second line is probably the issue (as in, needed) but why did you in that one use the syntax //192.169.1.8/WORKGROUP;Download rather than just //192.168.1.8/Download as before?
That was just many of the things I tried, as that was what it looked to me as what Gigolo was using to automount and show on desktop.
Here are all the options I have tried as suggested by others:

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000 0 0

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000,vers=1.0 0 0

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000,vers=1.0,sec=ntlm 0 0
Mint19.1-ASUS-Intelx2 2.7GHz-8GB-nVidia 1Gb
Mint19.1-DELL PowerEdge-Xeonx4 2.4GHz-16GB-nVidia 2Gb
Mint19-ASRock-AMD2800x2 2.8GHz-2GB-nVidia 2Gb
Lite-Toshiba-AMD 2.2GHz-2Gb-Radeon256Mb
Bodhi-Acer-AMD1600Mhz-2GB-SIS 128Mb

rene
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4161
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: NAS mount fstab

Post by rene » Sat May 04, 2019 2:42 pm

I see. Well, unfortunate, since it's usually the "vers=1.0" thing and hence a quick fix. "auto" and "user" together don't make much sense but is clearly not the issue. If the same line definitively worked or even still works in previous versions I'd advise to stick around waiting for altair4, the forum's resident Samba expert.

Or, wait, unless of course you don't have samba installed at this point. I don't / hardly use CIFS and don't know what OOTB-state is at the moment but there was a period during Mint 18.x at least when not enough was installed OOTB.

User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9298
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: NAS mount fstab

Post by phd21 » Sat May 04, 2019 3:51 pm

Hi dudesplace,

When all else fails, turn everything off for a couple of minutes including the hardware router, the NAS storage, etc... then turn on the router with NAS, then your computer and retry the suggestions.

Good luck.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

bodycount28
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 3:49 pm
Location: California

Re: NAS mount fstab

Post by bodycount28 » Tue May 07, 2019 6:20 pm

dudesplace wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 2:34 pm
rene wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 12:45 pm
The vers=1.0 from your second line is probably the issue (as in, needed) but why did you in that one use the syntax //192.169.1.8/WORKGROUP;Download rather than just //192.168.1.8/Download as before?
That was just many of the things I tried, as that was what it looked to me as what Gigolo was using to automount and show on desktop.
Here are all the options I have tried as suggested by others:

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000 0 0

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000,vers=1.0 0 0

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.8/Download /media/NAS1 cifs username=admin,password=mypass,nounix,auto,user,uid=1000,vers=1.0,sec=ntlm 0 0
What version SMB are you running on your NAS? You may need to adjust your syntax to match:

SMB1 = vers1.0
SMB2 = vers2.0 (in some cases vers2.1)
SMB3 = vers3.0

Give this a try if you haven't already.

Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”