[SOLVED] Installing Eclipse

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
User avatar
Fredashay
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:15 pm
Location: About 200 chunks west of spawn
Contact:

[SOLVED] Installing Eclipse

Post by Fredashay »

Quick questions:

Is /bin the correct place to put an executable that I installed manually?
How do I create an icon on my desktop and panel for an executable that I installed manually?

TL:DR:

I recently switched to Linux Mint from Windows 7. One of the things I use my 'puter for is writing plugins in Java to mod my Minecraft server. On Windows, I used Eclipse Luna (yeah, an old version, but I grew comfortable with it and didn't like the work flow of the newer versions).

Anyway, when I installed Eclipse from the Software Manager and tried to run it, I got the following error:
An error has occurred. See the log file
/home/oof/.eclipse/org.eclipse.platform_3.8_155965261/configuration/1558564626443.log
The contents of that log are a Java stack trace:
!SESSION Wed May 22 18:37:06 EDT 2019 ------------------------------------------
!ENTRY org.eclipse.equinox.launcher 4 0 2019-05-22 18:37:06.459
!MESSAGE Exception launching the Eclipse Platform:
!STACK
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter
at java.base/java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:471)
at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:588)
at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:521)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.invokeFramework(Main.java:626)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.basicRun(Main.java:584)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.run(Main.java:1438)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.main(Main.java:1414)
And here's my system specs in case that matters:
System:
Host: oof-X10DAi Kernel: 4.15.0-50-generic x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10
Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Desktop Mobo: Supermicro model: X10DAi v: 123456789 serial: <filter>
UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: 1.0a date: 09/24/2014
CPU:
Topology: 2x Quad Core model: Intel Xeon E5-2623 v3 bits: 64
type: MT MCP SMP arch: Haswell rev: 2 L2 cache: 20.0 MiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 96023
Speed: 1200 MHz min/max: 1200/3500 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1200 2: 1200
3: 1203 4: 1201 5: 1201 6: 1203 7: 1201 8: 1203 9: 1200 10: 1201 11: 1201
12: 1200 13: 1200 14: 1201 15: 1200 16: 1202
Graphics:
Device-1: NVIDIA GM107GL [Quadro K620] driver: nvidia v: 390.116
bus ID: 81:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: nvidia
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa resolution: 3440x1440~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Quadro K620/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.116
direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel C610/X99 series HD Audio vendor: Super Micro
driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
Device-2: NVIDIA driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 81:00.1
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-50-generic
Network:
Device-1: Intel I210 Gigabit Network vendor: Super Micro driver: igb
v: 5.4.0-k port: 6000 bus ID: 05:00.0
IF: enp5s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Device-2: Intel I210 Gigabit Network vendor: Super Micro driver: igb
v: 5.4.0-k port: 5000 bus ID: 06:00.0
IF: enp6s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 17.29 TiB used: 9.63 TiB (55.7%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD6003FFBX-68MU3N0
size: 5.46 TiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD6003FFBX-68MU3N0
size: 5.46 TiB
ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Western Digital model: WD1000DHTZ-04N21V0
size: 931.51 GiB
ID-4: /dev/sdd type: USB model: Kindle Internal Storage size: 6.24 GiB
ID-5: /dev/sdf type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD60EZRZ-00RWYB1
size: 5.46 TiB
Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: HL-DT-ST model: DVDRAM GH24NSC0 rev: LK00
dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
Features: speed: 12 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes
rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 916.39 GiB used: 54.31 GiB (5.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 31.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 41 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 34%
Info:
Processes: 345 Uptime: 2h 24m Memory: 125.79 GiB used: 7.72 GiB (6.1%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19
inxi: 3.0.27
I attempted a number of fixes, including uninstalling and reinstalling Java. Same result when I tried to launch Eclipse.

So I then went straight to the source and downloaded an old version of Eclipse Luna for Linux from eclipse.org as a tar.gz file. I then extracted the /eclipse folder into my /downloads folder and ran the executable. I never expected it to work, but... Violin!!! It launched and let me select my workspace! Whoohoo :-)

So what's the problem, you're thinking?

I then moved the /eclipse folder into /bin because I didn't want it to live in /downloads, but whenever I want to launch Eclipse, I need to go into /bin/eclipse and click on the executable.

That's why I posted this in Newbie Questions rather than a thread for more experienced users :-/

Is /bin where it belongs? Or should I move it somewhere else, like /opt or /usr/bin? I'm not sure where it really belongs.
And how to I put an icon for it on my start menu, my program bar, and on my desktop? Since I didn't actually "install" it with Software Manager, there doesn't seem to be a way to tell Linux, "Hey! I just installed this thing manually, so please treat it like an installed application!"
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Into computer gaming and HO model railroading. I run a Minecraft server and write plugins in Java for my server.
My Server -- https://minecraft-server-list.com/server/271259/
My Plugins -- https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/auth ... hay.38349/
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13759
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Installing Eclipse

Post by AndyMH »

You can put it wherever you like, generally somewhere in your path (echo $PATH in a terminal), I'd probably put it in /usr/bin. Right click on the mint menu > configure > menu editor and you can create a new launcher.
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
User avatar
Fredashay
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:15 pm
Location: About 200 chunks west of spawn
Contact:

Re: Installing Eclipse

Post by Fredashay »

Okay. I was debating between /opt and /usr/bin. So /user/bin it is. Thanks!
Into computer gaming and HO model railroading. I run a Minecraft server and write plugins in Java for my server.
My Server -- https://minecraft-server-list.com/server/271259/
My Plugins -- https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/auth ... hay.38349/
Locked

Return to “Beginner Questions”