Creating an executable file (Resolved)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
GELvdH
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:10 am
Location: Havelock, NC USA

Creating an executable file (Resolved)

Post by GELvdH »

I am trying to create an executable file like a Windows batch file to be able to call it from a software startup file which I create to change my video resolution.
Last edited by GELvdH on Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8955
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Creating an executable file

Post by jimallyn »

You probably want to write a BASH script Free downloadable manual here:

http://www.linuxcommand.org/tlcl.php/
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan
User avatar
ricardogroetaers
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:06 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Re: Creating an executable file

Post by ricardogroetaers »

If I understand you correctly, you can do this by "Session and startup" -> "automatic application startup".
Click the "+ Add" button. The rest is intuitive.
Image
User avatar
Flemur
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Creating an executable file

Post by Flemur »

GELvdH wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:31 pm
I am trying to create an executable file like a Windows batch file to be able to call it from a software startup file which I create to change my video resolution.
Did you have a question?
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
User avatar
GELvdH
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:10 am
Location: Havelock, NC USA

Re: Creating an executable file

Post by GELvdH »

Sorry, the rest of my question got lost in the ether
Yes I have created a file in RESO with the following command to change my video resolution and saved it to the default location for RESO,
#! /bin/sh
xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00" 85.25 1368 1440 1576 1784 768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode your_output_here 1368x768_60.00
xrandr -s 1368x768
the issue is that when I go to 'Startup Applications' and enter RESO in the name and RESO in the command location save it and reboot, nothing changes. Apparently I have to create an executable file to call it from 'Startup Applications'. Question is How Do I Do That in linux.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”